Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

NCAA Volleyball at the O'Connell Center
NCAA Regional Selections (2003-09)
Florida 4
Nebraska 3
Penn State 3
Stanford 3
Washington 3
Hawaii 2
Minnesota 2
Texas 2
Colorado State 1
Long Beach St. 1
Louisville 1
Texas A&M 1
Wisconsin 1
Wisconsin Green-Bay 1

The University of Florida has will play host to an NCAA Volleyball Regional for the 10th time in school history, as the Gators are one of four regional host sites for the 2009 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championships, to be played Dec. 11-12, 2009.

The 2009 season will mark the third time in four years that Florida will play host to NCAA regional action, as the Gators hosted regional events in 2006 and 2007. In 2007, UF became the first school to be awarded a regional in back-to-back years since the formation of pre-determined sites prior to the 2003 campaign.

In 2009, Florida will become the first team to be selected to host an NCAA regional four times since the pre-determined format began.

“We are honored to be chosen once again to host the NCAA regional in 2009,” Florida head coach Mary Wise said. “We have, in the O’Connell Center, a venue that is one of the best places to watch and play volleyball. Our fan base has created an atmosphere where a home match is an event. It says a lot about the support we receive from our fans and the first-class job that the UAA staff provides in putting on championships.”

Other host sites in 2009 include Sports Pavilion in Minneapolis, Minn., Qwest Center at Omaha, Neb., and Maples Pavilion in Palo Alto, Calif.

“When we were selecting these sites, we really wanted to focus on attendance history and attendance potential,” said Marie Robbins, associate athletics director at Alabama and chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Committee. “We believe these sites provide a regional balance that can draw great crowds. They have proven to be great hosts in the past, and we know they will step up to the plate in hosting these regionals so we can continue to grow this championship.”

The event will mark the 10th time in school history that Florida will host an NCAA volleyball regional (1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007). The Gators reached the Final Four in five of the previous nine seasons when hosting a regional (1992, 1996, 1998, 2002, 2003). Florida could also host first and second round action in the 2009 championship with those sites to be determined when the field of 64 is announced.

Should Florida be selected to host the first and second rounds and continue to advance, the Gators could play their entire 2009 postseason schedule within the state of Florida, as the 2009 NCAA Volleyball Final Four will take place in the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa Dec. 17-19.

Florida has ranked in the nation’s top 10 in attendance in 17 of the last 18 years.

For more information about the NCAA Volleyball Championship, please log on to

2009 NCAA Volleyball Regional Sites (Dec. 11-12)
Gainesville, Fla. Stephen C. O’Connell Center (Florida)
Minneapolis, Minn. Sports Pavilion (Minnesota)
Omaha, Neb. Qwest Center (Nebraska)
Palo Alto, Calif. Maples Pavilion (Stanford)
2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship (Dec. 17-19)
Tampa, Fla. St. Pete Times Forum
Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.