Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline


Saturday April 10, 2004Blue Defeats Orange, 41-13, in Spring Game

Gainesville, FL

The Blue team defeated the Orange team, 41-13, in the annual University of Florida Spring Game in front of a crowd of 24,500 at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium Saturday. The victory was the first for the blue team in four years. Before Saturday's matchup, the Orange team had won six of the last eight meetings.

Chris Leak completed 15-of-28 passes for 335 yards while Orange team quarterback Justin Midgett went 16-of-31 for 286 yards.

On the receiving end, Dallas Baker and Reggie Lewis led their teams. Baker recorded 176 yards in three receptions, including a 73-yard catch from Leak. Lewis had seven receptions for 109 yards.

Ciatrick Fason and Sykler Thorton led the running game. The Blue team's Fason rushed for 141 yards and three touchdowns and Thorton led the Orange team with 70 yards an a score.

Defensively, Blue team freshman defensive end Tranell Morant had a game-high two sacks to go along with five tackles. Sophomore cornerback Jermaine McCollum recorded two interceptions for the Blue team.

Florida opens the 2004 season on Sept. 4 when Middle Tennessee State come to the Swamp.



2004 Spring Awards

Most Improved Lifter: Travis Harris

Iron Gator Award (Voted by Team): Travis Harris

Gator Performance Award: Chris Leak

Lifter of the Year: Mo Mitchell, 1,360 pounds - Bench, Squat and Power Clean

Jon McBeth Award: Daryl Dixon

Best Effort - Offense: Lance Butler

Best Effort - Defense: Channing Crowder

Most Improeved - Offense: Ronald Dowdy

Most Improved - Defense: Jarvis Herring

Most Improved Walk-On(s): DeJuan Lawrence, Zephrine Augustine

Greg See Most Courageous Award: Kenny Parker

Bob Bryan Student-Athlete Award: Mike Degory

President's Award: Steve Rissler



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.