Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Gators Headline

Friday April 11, 2003Nine Inducted Into UF Hall of Fame

Gainesville, FL

The hard work and accomplishments of nine former University of Florida athletes and staff members were recognized as they were inducted into the University of Florida Athletic Hall of Fame Friday evening at the University of Florida Hotel and Conference Center Hotel. This years' inductees include: Alvin Cowans (football), Sammy Green (football), Dudley Hart (golf), Michael Holloway (track and field), Lynn McDonnell Keefe (gymnastics), Pat Patchen (football), Lisa Raymond (tennis), Huey Richardson Jr. (football) and Alfred Warrington (Honorary). This year's class brings a total of 296 inductees into the Hall of Fame.

Inductees are voted in three different categories which include: Gator Great, Distinguished Letterwinners and Honorary Letterwinners. Gator Greats are individuals who are letterwinners from UF and have brought recognition and prominence to the University and themselves by athletic accomplishments as an undergraduate. Distinguished Letterwinners are athletes who have made major contributions to the University athletic program for many years through personal time, effort and interest. Honorary letterwinners are individuals, coaches, athletic officials, staff members and other University officials who were not letterwinner, but have had many years of outstanding service to the athletic program through personal time, effort and interest.

Alvin Cowans was this years' Distinguished inductee. He was a member of the Florida football team, lettering three years from 1973-1976. Cowans is currently the President and CEO of McCoy Federal Credit Union in Orlando.

Sammy Green was inducted as a Gator Great and also was a letterwinner in football from 1972-1975. Green was a linebacker and nose guard while at UF. During his career he averaged eight tackles per game, including 13 per game during 1975 when he received All-America honors. Green went on to play in the NFL for the Houston Oilers and Seattle Seahawks.

Dudley Hart was a letterwinner on the men's golf team from 1987-1990 and was inducted as a Gator Great. Hart was an All-American for four seasons and was on the All-SEC team each of his four years.

Michael Hollway was a letterwinner on the men's track and field team from 1987-1990. While at UF, he set school records in both indoor and outdoor pole vaulting, and was the only pole vaulter to ever win four SEC outdoor titles. Holloway also earned Academic All-SEC honors three times during his career.

Lynn McDonnell Keefe was a letterwinner on the Gymnastics team from 1981- 84. McDonnell Keefe was an All-American each of her four years and was a Dean's List student who maintained a 3.5 GPA as a Microbiology/Pre-Med major.

Pat Patchen lettered in football from 1958-60, and was a All-Southeastern Conference First-Team selection in 1960. In addition, he was an All- America honorable mention. Patchen was also an Academic All-America and Academic All-SEC selection in 1960 with a 3.18 grade point average in engineering.

Lisa Raymond was inducted as a Gator Great as she lettered on the women's tennis team in 1992 and 1993. Raymond claimed two consecutive NCAA Singles Championships before turning professional after her sophomore season. Since 1996 she has captured six professional grand slam titles.

Huey Richardson, Jr. was a letterwinner on the football team from 1987- 1990. During that time, he was named to the first team 1990 All-America team and a two-time first team All-SEC selection. Richardson was also a four-time All-SEC Honor Roll selection.

Alfred Warrington was inducted into the UF Athletic Hall of Fame as an Honorary Letterwinner. Warrington has dedicated many years of service and contribution to Florida athletics. He was a past President of Gator Boosters, the Alumni Association and the Blue Bonnet Bowl Committee.
Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.