Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Gators Headline


Friday April 5, 2002Nine Former Gators Named to UF Hall of Fame

Gainesville, FL

The University of Florida Gator Boosters, Inc. has announced the 2002 Inductees to the UF Athletic Hall of Fame. The nine new members will be inducted on April 5 at a ceremony to be held at the Holloway Touchdown Terrace.

The inductees selected range from a variety of sports. They are; Joseph Brodsky (football, 1953-56), Jillian Alexander Brower (tennis, 1989-91), Chris DiMarco (golf, 1987-90), Gary Gerson (athletic counselor, 1951-55), William "Nate" Jenkins (track, 1971-74), Alonzo Johnson (football, 1981-85), Michael "Shane" Matthews (football, 1990-92), Anthony Nesty (swimming, 1988-92) and David Zubero (swimming, 1977-80).

Brodsky was hired as an assistant coach with the Dallas Cowboys after graduating from UF where he set three individual school records for interceptions. Another football great, Johnson was a two-time All-American and a first-round draft pick by the Philadelphia Eagles. Matthews lettered in football in 1990-92 and was named a two-time SEC Player of the year.

Nesty won a gold medal in the 1988 Olympic Games in Seoul in the 100-meter butterfly as well as scoring three consecutive NCAA Championships in the same event from 1990-92. He is currently in his fourth season as an assistant coach for the men's and women's swimming and diving teams. A fellow swimmer, Zubero was a 14-time All-American and won the bronze medal in the 100-meter butterfly in the 1980 Olympic Games in Moscow.

Alexander Brower was the 1991 NCAA Doubles Champion with Nicole Arendt becoming the first ever individual to claim the title for Florida. DiMarco won the 1990 SEC Player of the year, has racked up two PGA TOUR victories and is currently ranked 11th on the 2001 Money list.

Gerson was named as an honorary inductee for his support to the development of the UF athletic programs. He graduated with honors in accounting in 1954 and received his MBA in 1955. Topping this distinguished list, Jenkins was the 1973 SEC Indoor 60-yard dash Champion and NCAA sprint finalist the same year.

The black-tie, invitation-only ceremony to be held on April 5 will begin with a dinner at 6:30 p.m. and the induction ceremony will follow at 7 p.m.

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.