Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Soccer Headline

The Gator soccer team claimed their sixth consecutive SEC Tournament title with a 2-1 win vs. Auburn

Sunday November 11, 2001UF Soccer Claims 6th Straight SEC Tournament Title

Baton Rouge, LA

The Gator soccer team claimed their sixth consecutive SEC Tournament title with a 2-1 win vs. Auburn

The No. 10 University of Florida soccer team (17-3-1, 8-1 SEC) collected its sixth consecutive Southeastern Conference Tournament title with a 2-1 victory over Auburn (11-7-1, 5-4 SEC) Sunday afternoon at the LSU Soccer Complex. The Gators received the SECís automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament field, which will be announced Monday, Nov. 12 at 3:00 p.m. This will be the Gators sixth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

Floridaís Andi Sellers got the first goal of match at 34:15, hitting the upper left slot of the goal from 35 yards over the fingertips of Auburn goalkeeper Megan Rivera. Auburn had an excellent opportunity to tie the score first half off a free kick. Auburnís Sandra Carnes took the shot on the loose ball in the box, but the ball banged off the crossbar and the Gator defense cleared the ball out of the box.

The score moved to 2-0 early in the second half off an Auburn own goal. Casey Hamel fed the ball to Crystal Frimpong, who was streaking down the right side of the box. Frimpong tried to cross the ball to Sellers, but the ball deflected off the foot of Auburnís Megan Stam and rolled into the goal at the left post at 47:27.

Auburnís Sandra Carnes cut the Gator lead to a single goal at 77:06 when she successfully converted a penalty kick. The penalty kick was awarded when Kellgren made a stop in the box, but was also called for the foul. The penalty kick was the first goal scored on the Gators in SEC Tournament final action since 1997.

For the match, Florida outshot the Tigers 13-8. UFís Jordan Kellgren turned in one save and AUís Rivera posted six saves.

SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer awarded three Florida players with 2001 SEC All-Tournament honors. From left - Abby Wambach (Tournament MVP), Keisha Bell and Andi Sellers.

"Well, we are excited to win the SEC Tournament. We look at this as our second season, the first season being the regular season. We completed (the second season) it 3-0 and we look forward to our third season that will start on Friday. We just have to wait until tomorrow to find out where we will be," UF Head Coach Becky Burleigh said.

"I donít think we played our best effort today, but maybe Auburn had something to do with that. Maybe defensively they did a good job and slowed us down a bit. We knew what to expect (from Auburn); we knew what we were going to face. I do not thing that they really surprised us at all with what they did. We knew they didnít give up many goals all season and we knew they were tough defensively. They lived up to their billing," she continued.

Floridaís three that earned All-SEC Tournament honors were repeats from the 2000 all-tournament team Ė Keisha Bell, Andi Sellers and Abby Wambach. Wambach also picked up the SEC Tournament MVP for the second consecutive season.

Florida now awaits the announcement of the 64-team NCAA bracket on Monday, Nov. 12 at 3:00 p.m. The bracket announcement show will be shown live in Gainesville on Cox Cable channel 8. NCAA Tournament play begins on Friday, Nov. 16.

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.