Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Friday April 20, 2001No. 15 Ole Miss Rallies to Defeat Baseball 9-1

Oxford, Miss.

Starter Pete Montrenes threw a two-hit complete game and Ole Miss took advantage of four errors to score nine unanswered runs in defeating Florida 9-1 Friday at Swayze Field. The loss drops Florida to 26-18 overall and 10-9 in the SEC while Ole Miss improves to 28-13-1 overall and 12-7 in the SEC.

Montrenes (8-3) pitched a complete game 9.0 innings and held Florida to a team season-lows of two hits and one run. He struck out six of his 35 batters faced and walked five.

Ole Miss rallied from a 1-0 deficit with a three-run seventh inning. Clint Farrar led off the seventh with a walk and was replaced by pinch runner Matt Mossberg. Mossberg advanced to second on a wild pitch, Burney Hutchinson walked and Lance Jones followed with a RBI groundout. Chad Stebbens walked and Carl Lafferty followed with a RBI single. Josh Christian drove in another run on a RBI single to centerfield for a 3-1 lead.

The Rebels took advantage of four Florida errors to score six runs in the bottom of the eighth. The four errors tied a team season-high for Florida.

Florida starter Keith Brice allowed only on hit and two runs over a season-high 6.1 innings pitched. He took the loss and is now 1-3. Keith Ramsey relieved Brice and gave up Lafferty’s game winning hit. He gave up his first earned run in his last 10 appearances.

Florida scored first in the top of the first when Aaron Davidson was hit by pitch, stole second and scored on Matt Goss RBI single down the rightfield line. The Gators collected a season-low two hits. Matt Goss and Ben Harrison each collected hits for the Gators. Aaron Davidson’s 13-game hit streak ended.

Game two of the three-game series is tomorrow at 5 p.m. ET at Swayze Field.



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.