Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Harrison Bader won the Dave Fuller Award for the second year in a row.

Thursday August 7, 2014Gator Baseball Names 2014 Award Recipients

Gainesville, Fla.

Harrison Bader won the Dave Fuller Award for the second year in a row.

The Gator Dugout Club, supporters of the University of Florida baseball program, announced its award winners from the 2014 season on Thursday following voting from its membership. Outfielder Harrison Bader, third baseman Josh Tobias, second baseman Casey Turgeon and right-hander Karsten Whitson each emerged victorious after the ballots were counted.


For the second-consecutive season, Bader earned the Dave Fuller Award, presented annually to the year's most timely hitter. Fuller guided Florida's program from 1948-75 and compiled an overall mark of 557-354-6 (.610) over his 28 seasons at the helm. Chosen second-team All-SEC, Bader led the squad with a .337 average in his 44 starts in center field and batted third for the Gators. The Bronxville, N.Y., native had a career-high 24 RBI, to go along with 27 runs, 15 walks, six doubles, two homers and two triples. He was 13-for-19 on the basepaths and had five sacrifice hits. Bader batted .303 with 20 runs, 15 RBI and 10 stolen bases in league action and was Florida’s top hitter with a .500 (13-for-26) clip in seven postseason outings. He was chosen to the NCAA Gainesville Regional All-Tourney Team after going 3-for-7 (.429) over the Gators’ two contests and made the SEC All-Tournament Team after hitting .526 (10-for-19) during UF’s five games in Hoover.


Tobias will be the recipient of the P.A. Lee Memorial Award, presented to the Gator baseball player who best exemplifies P.A. Lee's positive and enthusiastic attitude. Lee was an assistant coach at UF from 1962-72. Tobias batted a career-high .305 in 46 games and 30 starts (27 at third base, three at designated hitter). He scored 15 runs and equaled single-season bests in walks (9) and homers (3). The Greensboro, N.C., native ranked second on the Gators with a .400 (8-for-20) postseason average in seven games. He hit .571 (4-for-7) during the NCAA Gainesville Regional, with multiple hits in both contests against North Carolina (2-for-4) and the College of Charleston (2-for-3), and was named to the SEC All-Tournament squad after batting .308 (4-for-13) with four runs, three RBI and a pair of walks.


Turgeon will collect the Mr. Gator Baseball Award, symbolic of the player who most personifies the spirit of Gator Baseball. A three-year letterwinner for the Gators, he batted .269 in 187 career games and 186 starts. He was selected in the 24th round of the 2014 Major League Baseball Draft by the St. Louis Cardinals and is currently among the Appalachian League leaders in batting average for the Johnson City (Tenn.) Cardinals. In his final season with the Gators, Turgeon paced the Orange and Blue with 20 multiple-hit efforts, notched career highs in runs (36), walks (35) and RBI (33) and tied his single-season bests in doubles (11) and homers (4). The Palm Harbor, Fla., native was chosen to the NCAA Gainesville Regional All-Tournament team after going 4-for-7 (.571).


Whitson will receive the Steve Georgiadis Award, presented to the Gator baseball player who has most overcome adversity. The Georgiadis Award is given in memory of former Gator pitcher Steve Georgiadis, who passed away on March 17, 1990. After missing the 2013 campaign, Whitson was 1-1 with a 3.86 earned run average in 2014, with 14 appearances, nine starts and 21 strikeouts in 37.1 innings. The righty from Chipley, Fla., earned a spot on the SEC All-Tournament Team after hurling six scoreless innings against No. 8 LSU in the final. He was picked in the 11th round of the MLB Draft by the Boston Red Sox and is currently playing for the Class-A Lowell (Mass.) Spinners.


For all of the latest information on Florida baseball, log on to or follow the team’s Twitter account @GatorZoneBB at


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.