Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Sophomore Vernon Hargreaves III was named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List.

Friday July 18, 2014Hargreaves Named to Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

New Haven, Conn.

Sophomore Vernon Hargreaves III was named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List.


University of Florida defensive back Vernon Hargreaves III has been named to the 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List, as announced by the Walter Camp Football Foundation today. Hargreaves is one of just five sophomores named to the list that includes 50 players from around the country.

This is the fourth preseason watch list the All-American has been named to this month. He was previously named to the Bednarik Award, Bronco Nagurski Trophy and Jim Thorpe Award lists.

The Tampa, Fla. native comes off a freshmen season where he started the final 10 games of the season, and tied for seventh in the Southeastern Conference (SEC) in interceptions (3). His 11 pass breakups equaled the most by a true freshmen in Florida history, and tied for the ninth-most in a single season in program history.

Hargreaves earned Third Team All-America, National Defensive Freshman of the Year, First Team All-Freshman All-America, SEC Newcomer of the Year, First Team All-SEC and Freshman All-SEC honors at the conclusion of his debut season.

Former Gator quarterback Danny Wuerffel is the only Florida player to receive the Walter Camp Player of the Year, winning in 1996. In 2008, Tim Tebow was a finalist for the award.

In all, 42 schools are represented on the list. There are 33 offensive players (16 quarterbacks, eight receivers, seven running backs and two offensive linemen) and 17 from the defensive side of the ball (seven defensive backs, five defensive lineman and five linebackers).

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 11. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 17, 2015 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (; @WalterCampFF) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.  The members of the NCFAA unveiled their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates.




Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.