Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Jeff Driskel has been named to the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List.

Wednesday July 16, 2014Jeff Driskel Named to Davey O'Brien Watch List

Fort Worth, Texas

Jeff Driskel has been named to the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List.

University of Florida quarterback Jeff Driskel was named to the 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, as announced by the Davey O’Brien Foundation Wednesday.

The redshirt junior from Oviedo, Fla., started three games in 2013 prior to suffering a season-ending fracture in his leg. Across three match ups, Driskel threw for 477 yards, completing 42-of-63 passes in his limited competition. He recorded career highs in attempts (33), completions (22) and passing yards (291) at Miami in week two.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The watch list was compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee and selected based on player performance during the previous year as well as expectations heading into the 2014 college football season. All nominees were required to have started at least one college game previously. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I FBS schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 3. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 24. The 2014 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11. 

Driskel joins 12 juniors and four fellow SEC representatives on the watch list. Florida alum Tim Tebow was the last Gator to receive the award (2007). UF standout Danny Wuerffel is one of just three quarterbacks ever to win the award twice (1995-96).

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.