Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Tennis Headline

Three members of Gator men's tennis earned spots on the 2014 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll.

Friday July 11, 2014Three Gators Earn SEC Spring Academic Honors

Gainesville, Fla.

Three members of Gator men's tennis earned spots on the 2014 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll.

Gator men’s tennis players Michael Alford, Florent Diep and Spencer Newman were named to the 2014 Southeastern Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll, announced Thursday by league commissioner Mike Slive. UF placed 72 student-athletes on the list across all sports.

To be recognized to the SEC Academic Honor Roll, each student-athlete must 1) have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship, a letterwinner or have participated on a varsity team for two years if non-scholarship; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

In his first two seasons as head coach, Bryan Shelton has guided six men’s tennis players to a combined eight SEC Academic Honor Roll nods.

The 2014 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2013-14 Summer, Fall and Spring terms. The NCAA champion softball and the SEC champion baseball teams each placed nine on the SEC Academic Honor Roll. A total of 16 women’s and 10 men’s track & field members appear on the Academic Honor Roll. The Gator lacrosse team, which swept the American Lacrosse Conference regular season and tournament titles, placed 14 on the list. Men’s golf (5), women’s tennis (4), men’s tennis (3), and women’s golf (2) each had multiple representatives on the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

Two seniors turned in 4.0 grade point averages in the 2013-14 academic year – lacrosse’s Cara Canington and track & field’s Shelby Hayes.

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.