Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Tuesday May 27, 2014Hargreaves Named a Nominee for 2014 Lott IMPACT Trophy

Newport Beach, CA

Florida sophomore defensive back Vernon Hargreaves was selected as one of 42 nominees for the 2014 Lott IMPACT Tophy, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced last week.

Hargreaves, a native of Tampa, Fla., started 10 games as a true freshman last season and was named the National Defensive Freshman of the Year by College Football News. He was a Third-Team All-American by the Associated Press and a consensus First-Team All-Southeastern Conference Selection. Hargreaves totaled 38 tackles, 11 pass breakups and three interceptions in his first season.

Now in its 11th year, the Lott IMPACT Trophy goes to the college football defensive player who has the biggest IMPACT on his team both on and off the field. IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

There are 17 linebackers on this year’s list, 14 defensive backs and 11 defensive linemen. The Pac-12 with a dozen nominees leads the way followed by the SEC with eight, the ACC and Big-12 with seven each, the Big Ten with six and the Mountain West one along with one player from independent Notre Dame.

There are seven players from last year’s Watch List on this year’s list: Derron Smith of Fresno State, Bryce Hager of Baylor, Eric Kendricks of UCLA, Danny Shelton of Washington, A.J. Johnson of Tennessee, Deterrian Shackleford of Ole Miss and Ifo Ekpre-Olomu of Oregon.

Said John Hamilton, Chairman of the Board of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, sponsors of the Lott IMPACT Trophy: “We continually strive to honor those young men who embrace the characteristics of Ronnie Lott and everything he stands for. Once again, we have a group of student-athletes who we believe live up to those very high standards and we look forward to watching them grow their already impressive resumes this fall.”

The winner will be announced at the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 14 at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

Last year’s winner was Anthony Barr of UCLA.

The complete list of nominees can be found here:


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.