Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

The Gators are the No. 2 national seed and will host the NCAA Gainesville Regional.

Monday May 26, 2014Gator Baseball Earns No. 2 National Seed, Hosts College of Charleston On Friday

Gainesville, Fla.

The Gators are the No. 2 national seed and will host the NCAA Gainesville Regional.

The University of Florida baseball team learned on Monday afternoon that it was awarded the No. 2 national seed for the 2014 NCAA Baseball Tournament that begins on Friday at McKethan Stadium.


Making their 30th Regional appearance and school-record seventh in a row under head coach Kevin O’Sullivan, the top-seeded Gators (40-21) will face fourth-seeded College of Charleston (41-17) at 7 p.m. Second-seeded Long Beach State (32-24) will meet third-seeded North Carolina (34-25) earlier in the day at 1 p.m. This marks the fifth time under O’Sullivan that UF has been a national seed (No. 8 in 2009, No. 3 in 2010, No. 2 in 2011, No. 1 in 2012) – the highest amount in the country in that time frame.


The Regional continues through Sunday, with a final game to be played Monday night, if necessary. The Gainesville Regional winner will face the winner of the Coral Gables Regional in a Super Regional series next weekend. The eight Super Regional winners advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.


UF is 85-62 (.578) all-time in NCAA Tournament action and has reached the CWS eight times: 1988, 1991, 1996, 1998, 2005, 2010, 2011 and 2012.


2014 NCAA Gainesville Regional Schedule


Friday, May 30

Game 1: 1 p.m. - No. 3 North Carolina (34-25) vs. No. 2 Long Beach State (32-24) (ESPN3)

Game 2: 7 p.m. - No. 4 College of Charleston (41-17) vs. No. 1 FLORIDA (40-21) (ESPN3)


Saturday, May 31

Game 3: 1 p.m. - Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2 (ESPN3)

Game 4: 7 p.m. - Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 (ESPN3)


Sunday, June 1

Game 5: 1 p.m. - Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4 (ESPN3)

Game 6: 7 p.m. - Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5 (ESPN3)


Monday, June 2

Game 7: (if necessary) – 1 p.m. - Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6 (ESPN3)


The national top eight seeds are Oregon State (42-12), Florida (40-21), Virginia (44-13), Indiana (42-13), Florida State (43-15), UL-Lafayette (53-7), TCU (42-15) and LSU (44-14-1). 


The SEC led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with 10, the most ever for a single conference. The ACC has seven institutions, while the Big 12 and Pacific-12 Conference each have five selected.


Each of the 16 Regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The Regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 30, to Monday, June 2 (if necessary). Selection of the eight Super Regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 2, at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).


The 68th Men’s College World Series begins play Friday, June 14, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.



Southeastern                        10 (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi State, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt)

Atlantic Coast                       7 (Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Maryland, Miami (Florida), North Carolina, Virginia)

Big 12                                    5 (Kansas, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech)

Pac-12                                   5 (Arizona State, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, Washington)

Big West                                4 (Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, Long Beach State, UC Irvine)

American Athletic                2 (Houston, Louisville)

Big South                              2 (Campbell, Liberty)

Big Ten                                  2 (Indiana, Nebraska)

Conference USA                 2 (Old Dominion, Rice)

Missouri Valley                    2 (Dallas Baptist, Indiana State)

Mountain West                     2 (San Diego State, UNLV)

Southland                             2 (Sam Houston State, Southeastern La.)

America East                        1 (Binghamton)

Atlantic-10                             1 (George Mason)

Atlantic Sun                          1 (Kennesaw State)

Big East                                 1 (Xavier)

Colonial                                 1 (College of Charleston)

Horizon                                  1 (Youngstown State)

Ivy                                           1 (Columbia)

Metro Atlantic                       1 (Siena)

Mid-American                      1 (Kent State)

Mid-Eastern                          1 (Bethune-Cookman)

Northeast                              1 (Bryant)

Ohio Valley                           1 (Jacksonville State)

Patriot                                    1 (Bucknell)

Southern                               1 (Georgia Southern)

Southwestern                       1 (Jackson State)

Summit                                  1 (North Dakota State)

Sun Belt                                 1 (Louisiana-Lafayette)

Western Athletic                 1 (Sacramento State)

West Coast                           1 (Pepperdine)


 NCAA Gainesville Regional Ticket Information

Current baseball season-ticket holders will have until Tuesday, May 27, at 5 p.m. to re-claim their current season tickets for the tournament. For current season-ticket holders to claim their seats for the tournament, visit and click on “Manage My Account.” Use your account ID and password to log in. If you do not know your password, click on the “Forgot Password” button and it will be sent to the e-mail address on file. Once in the account, select “View/Pay 2014 NCAA Baseball Regional Invoice” and follow the steps through the checkout process.


Beginning Wednesday, May 28, at 8:30 a.m., all fans can order tickets using the following methods:

·         Order online at, starting Wednesday, May 28, at 8:30 a.m.

·         Order by calling one of the Ticket Office Specialists at (352) 375-4683, ext. 6800, or toll free (800) 344-2867, ext. 6800, Wednesday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

·         Order by visiting the Gator Ticket Office, located at Gate 1 of Ben Hill Griffin Stadium, Wednesday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Single-game tickets will be sold beginning on Thursday, May 29, and the first 250 University of Florida students will be admitted free to each game.


Ticket prices are the following:

Regional Books


Tournament Reserved Box              


Tournament Reserved Chairback   


Tournament Reserved Bleacher     




Single-Game Tickets:


Single-Game Reserved Box            


Single-Game Reserved Chairback


Single-Game Reserved Bleacher


Single-Game General Admission   





Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • Sun Sports / Fox Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., Sun Sports & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.