Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Tennis Headline

Olivia Janowicz is presented the National Most Improved Senior of the Year award.

Tuesday May 20, 2014Olivia Janowicz Named ITA National Most Improved Senior of the Year

Athens, GA

Olivia Janowicz is presented the National Most Improved Senior of the Year award.

Florida’s Olivia Janowicz was honored as the 2014 National Most Improved Senior of the Year when the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced its annual coaches’ awards this afternoon at the NCAA Individual Championships banquet.


This is the inaugural year for the National Most Improved Senior of the Year award.


Quoting UF Head Coach Roland Thornqvist:

“Olivia symbolizes perfectly what this award is all about: a player who, through hard work and tenacious spirit, managed to find the summit of both our lineup and college tennis overall.”


Janowicz (Palm Bay, Fla.) has won over 200 singles and doubles matches during her four years at Florida. This year, she attained career-high rankings of No. 7 in singles and No. 25 in doubles with Kourtney Keegan. Janowicz is regarded as an excellent leader who helps keep her team united and an extremely fair player who would rather lose than cheat during a match. A 2014 All-SEC First Team selection, Janowicz won the 2013 Dorothy Anderson Scholarship Award, presented annually to the Gator who displays the best combination of academics and character on and off the court. She will compete in both the singles and doubles draws at the 2014 NCAA Championships.




2014 Women's National Award Winners: 

·         Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year: Jamie Ashworth, Duke University

·         ITA Assistant Coach of the Year: Troy Porco, University of Virginia

·         ITA Rookie Player of the Year: Jamie Loeb, University of North Carolina

·         ITA Player to Watch: Hayley Carter, University of North Carolina

·         ITA Senior Player of the Year: Kristie Ahn, Stanford University

·         ITA Most Improved Senior of the Year: Olivia Janowicz, University of Florida

·         Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship: Maho Kowase, University of Georgia

·         ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sportsmanship & Leadership Award: Belinda Niu, Northwestern University 



About the ITA Awards program:

As the governing body of collegiate tennis, the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of varsity collegiate tennis players. The ITA, which is comprised of nearly 1,700 men's and women's varsity coaches and 20,000 student-athletes from over 1,200 institutions, has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership, sportsmanship and athletic performance. Awards are given to both men and women, on the Regional and National levels to all Divisions represented within the ITA (NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA, and Community and Junior Colleges). The ITA annually recognizes over 3,000 student-athletes on an individual and team basis from over 500 different varsity tennis programs. More than 300 coaches participate in the award selection process, serving on Regional and/or National selection committees. For more information on the ITA Awards program, please visit


For all of the latest information on Florida women’s tennis:

Official Website:

Twitter: @GatorZoneWTN  and  @RolandTFlorida

Facebook: FloridaGatorTennis



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.