Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Junior Taylor Gushue is up for the Johnny Bench Award presented to the nation's best catcher.

Thursday May 15, 2014UF Baseball's Taylor Gushue Named Johnny Bench Award Semifinalist

Gainesville, Fla.

Junior Taylor Gushue is up for the Johnny Bench Award presented to the nation's best catcher.

The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced on Thursday that University of Florida junior Taylor Gushue has been named as one of 15 semifinalists for the 2014 Johnny Bench Award presented by

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 3. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 17th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 26.


Gushue has started all 53 games for the Gators and leads the team in the “Triple Crown” categories with a .317 batting average, 42 RBI and five homers. He also paces UF’s offense in slugging percentage (.466), doubles (13) and sacrifice flies (11) and sports a .994 fielding percentage. Now up with the Seattle Mariners, Mike Zunino became the first Johnny Bench Award winner from Florida in 2012.


2014 Johnny Bench Award Semifinalists

Will Allen, Ole Miss
Brett Austin, NC State
Anthony Azar, Sam Houston State
Aramis Garcia, FIU
Grayson Greiner, South Carolina
Taylor Gushue, FLORIDA  
Sean Hagen, Eastern Kentucky

Mike Hollenbeck, Illinois State

Sean McHugh, Purdue
Brian O'Keefe, Saint Joseph's
Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State

Alex Real, New Mexico
Kyle Schwarber, Indiana
Mark Zagunis, Virginia Tech
Shane Zeile, UCLA


For all of the latest information on Florida baseball, log on to or follow the team’s Twitter account @GatorZoneBB at



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.