Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline


Thursday May 8, 2014Shannon Gilroy Named Tewaaraton Award Finalist

Gainesville, Fla.

Junior midfielder Shannon Gilroy has been named a 2014 Tewaaraton Award finalist, as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Thursday. The Tewaaraton Award, presented by Panama Jack, honors the nation’s top male and female college lacrosse player.


Gilroy leads the nation with 80 goals and ranks third 98 points, in addition to leading Florida with 75 draw controls,  23 caused turnovers and 18 assists. She was named the ALC Tournament MVP, ALC Midfield Player of the Year and was an All-ALC First Team selection. Highlighting the season, Gilroy set or tied three program single-game records in the win over High Point with 10 draw controls and eight goals off of 13 shots. She has set a total of 11 program records this season. Gilroy is Florida’s third Tewaaraton finalist in three years, along with Brittany Dashiell (2012) and Mikey Meagher (2013). She is also the only player from the American Lacrosse Conference to be named a finalist in 2014.


The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. The five men’s and five women’s finalists will be invited to the May 29 ceremony in Washington.


The Gators are the No. 4 seed in the NCAA tournament and have earned a first round bye. Florida will face the winner of the game between Denver and Jacksonville on May 11 at 1 p.m.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


Tewaaraton Award Finalists


Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., M

Megan Douty, Maryland - Jr., D

Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Jr., M

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., A

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., A


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.