Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Softball Headline

Florida placed five players on the SEC postseason award lists.

Tuesday May 6, 2014Five Gators Earn All-SEC Softball Accolades

Birmingham, Ala.

Florida placed five players on the SEC postseason award lists.

Five members of the University of Florida softball team received All-SEC awards, announced Tuesday (May 6) by the conference office. Sophomore infielder Kelsey Stewart was recognized as a First Team All-SEC honoree.


In addition to Stewart’s First Team selection, pitcher Hannah Rogers and infielder Stephanie Tofft were named to the All-SEC Second Team, while outfielder Justine McLean earned a Freshman All-SEC designation. Florida was the conference’s second-best fielding team, and Rogers, Stewart, Tofft and Taylor Schwarz all were named to the SEC All-Defensive Team. 


Stewart ranks third in the conference in hitting at .427, including a league-best .464 average in SEC play. The sophomore also is among the league leaders in hits (first, 82), triples (T-2nd, 4), stolen base (third, 30), runs scored (fifth, 55), doubles (fifth, 13) and RBI (11th, 47). Defensively, the Wichita, Kan., native helped turn 12 double plays and posted a .961 fielding percentage.


A Senior CLASS Award finalist, Rogers garnered her fourth straight all-conference designation. The right-hander, was one of the league’s top finishers in wins (third, 23), ERA (fourth, 1.85) and strikeouts (ninth, 137). In the field, Rogers made just two errors in 55 chances. The Lake Wales, Fla., native became the second pitcher in program history to win 100 career games (120), and has a chance to be UF’s first-ever four-time All-American.


The National (NFCA) and SEC Player of the Week for the week ending April 20, Tofft is one of the SEC’s best in RBI (T-6th, 54) and runs scored (15th, 46). The senior is one of four Gators with double-digit home runs (10), and ranks second on the team in RBI. The Lincoln, Calif., native posted a .961 fielding percentage and was a part of four double plays, including the game-ending DP in Sunday’s regular-season finale at Arkansas.


One of three Gators with double-digit steals (10), McLean hit .292 in her first year at UF with three doubles, one triple and 28 runs scored. The Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., native also excelled in the field, making just one error in 51 chances and recording two outfield assists.


As the SEC’s best defensive first baseman, Schwarz made just two errors in 335 chances for a .994 fielding clip, including a clean slate in 147 chances during conference games. The second-year player helped Florida turn 16 double plays on the year. 


The Gators will participate this week in the 2014 SEC Softball Tournament, hosted this year by South Carolina in Columbia; as the No. 4 seed, Florida will play No. 5 Georgia on Thursday, May 8 at 4 p.m. (ET) at Carolina Softball Stadium. The contest between the Gators and Bulldogs will be broadcast live on ESPNU, as the complete 2014 SEC Tournament will once again air on the ESPN family of networks. The Championship Game is slated to be broadcast on ESPN2 on Saturday, May 10 at 8 p.m. ESPN’s softball crew of Beth Mowins, Jessica Mendoza, Michele Smith, and Holly Rowe will handle coverage through the duration of the tournament.



First Team All-SEC

P – Jaclyn Traina, Alabama

P – Tori Finucane, Missouri

P – Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia

IF – Madison Shipman, Tennessee

IF – Kelsey Stewart, Florida

IF –Alex Hugo, Georgia

IF – Paige Wilson, Georgia

IF – Corrin Genovese, Missouri

OF – Haylie McCleney, Alabama

OF – Branndi Melero, Auburn

OF – Melissa Davin, Tennessee

OF – Taylor Gadbois, Missouri

C – Annie Aldrete, Tennessee

DP/U – Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU


Second Team All-SEC

P – Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee

P – Hannah Rogers, Florida

P – Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky

IF – Kasey Cooper, Auburn

IF – Stephanie Tofft, Florida

IF –Emily Carosone, Auburn

IF – Kaila Hunt, Alabama

IF – Nikki Sagermann, Kentucky

OF – A.J. Andrews, LSU

OF – RT Cantillo, Ole Miss

OF – Cassie Tysarczyk, Texas A&M

OF – Emily Albus, Texas A&M

C – Molly Fichtner, Alabama

DP/U – Devon Wallace, Arkansas


Freshman All-SEC

P – Tori Finucane, Missouri

P – Alexis Silkwood, Mississippi State

P – Nickie Blue, South Carolina

P – Baylee Corbello, LSU

IF – Kasey Cooper, Auburn

IF – Caroline Seitz, Mississippi State

IF –Taylor Koening, Tennessee

IF – Megan Geer, Tennessee

IF – Kaylea Snaer, South Carolina

OF – Justine McLean, Florida

OF – Bailey Landry, LSU

OF - Shaliyah Geathers, Tennessee

C – Annie Aldrete, Tennessee

DP/U – Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU


SEC All-Defensive

P – Hannah Rogers, Florida

C – Griffin Joiner, Kentucky

1B – Taylor Schwarz, Florida

2B – Kelsey Stewart, Florida

SS – Madison Shipman, Tennessee

3B – Stephanie Tofft, Florida

LF – Mackenzie Sykes, Mississippi State

CF – Haylie McCleney, Alabama

RF – Cassie Tysarczyk, Texas A&M


Player of the Year: Madison Shipman, Tennessee

Pitcher of the Year: Jaclyn Traina, Alabama

Freshman of the Year: Tori Finucane, Missouri

Coach of the Year: Patrick Murphy, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee


For live updates, box scores, stats, recaps, and videos as Florida enters the postseason, stay tuned to, follow the Gators on Twitter and visit the team on Facebook.



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.