Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Golf Headline

Freshman Maria Torres

Friday May 2, 2014Maria Torres Earns SEC All-Freshman Honor

Gainesville, Fla.

Freshman Maria Torres

Gators Maria Torres made an immediate impact for the Orange and Blue. The first-year Florida women’s golfer was named to the 2014 SEC All-Freshman team, the league announced today.


Torres led the UF squad with a team-low 73.7 stroke average in 26 rounds in her freshman campaign.


Maria Torres – Season Highlights

·         Named the SEC Freshman Women’s Golfer of the Week (Feb. 17-23) following her team-leading performance at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate. Torres finished the event at 6-under (210).

·         Ended the 2013-14 season with a team-high five top-25 finishes, including two top-10, and a personal-best T3.

·         Fired eight under-par rounds this year, including a career-low 69 in the final round of the Allstate Intercollegiate.

·         Placed in the top-5 at her first SEC Championship, carding a team-best 219 (+3).


Head Coach Emily Glaser Says: “We are proud of Maria and the way she has represented the Gators this year.  Your freshman year is always a time of learning and adjustment and she did a great job of adapting.  Maria is a great player with a bright future ahead of her.  She wants to win and competes hard every time she steps on the course.  This is a great honor for her.”


First Team All-SEC

Simin Feng, Vanderbilt (SEC Championship Medalist)

Allyson McDonald, Mississippi State

Gabriela Lopez, Arkansas

Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

Emily Tubert, Arkansas

Caroline Nistrup, LSU

Madelene Sagstrom, LSU

Justine Dreher, South Carolina


Second Team All-SEC

Samantha Swinehart, South Carolina

Marta Sanz, Auburn

Katerina Ruzickova, Texas A&M

Emma Talley, Alabama

Jennifer Hahn, Vanderbilt

Regina Plasencia, Arkansas

Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina

Chessey Thomas, Tennessee


All-Freshman Team

Maria Torres, Florida

Caroline Nistrup, LSU

Simin Feng, Vanderbilt

Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina

Haley Mills, Kentucky

Jessica Peng, Mississippi State

Antonia Scherer, Vanderbilt

Marijosse Navarro, Texas A&M


Coach of the Year: Shauna Estes-Taylor, Arkansas

Player of the Year: Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

Freshman of the Year: Simin Feng, Vanderbilt

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Stephanie Meadow, Alabama


Up Next: Postseason play will continue for UF with the NCAA Central Regional Championships in Stillwater, Oklahoma, May 8-10.


Follow the Gators:













Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.