Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline


Thursday May 1, 2014Gilroy and Burgess Named ALC Players of the Year; O'Leary Named ALC Coach of the Year

Gainesville, Fla.

Shannon Gilroy is the American Lacrosse Conference Midfielder of the Year and Sammi Burgess picked up Rookie of the Year honors, as announced by the league on Tuesday. Additionally, head coach Amanda O’Leary was named the ALC Coach of the Year for the third time in four years.


“I am very proud of Shannon and Sammi,” said head coach Amanda O’Leary. “They have both worked extremely hard this year and these are certainly well-deserved honors. Shannon is an amazing player who has been dominant on both ends of the field.  Sammi has had a fantastic freshmen year thus far and all of her extra work has really paid off.  I could not be more proud of Shannon, Sammi and all of our All-Conference award winners.”


Florida also placed four players on the All-Conference teams, as Nora Barry and Gilroy earned first-team nods and Caroline Fitzgerald and Burgess were named to the second team.


Gilroy has had a tremendous junior season and leads the NCAA in goals (75), goals per game (4.41) and points per game (5.35), while ranking second in points (91). She also leads the Gators in draw controls (72), caused turnovers (23) and assists (16). She has also picked up 19 ground balls this season and is 29-for-35 from the 8-meter. Gilroy has set or tied 9 program records this season.


Burgess has had an impressive freshman campaign, ranking second on the team with 45 points, 31 goals and 14 assists. She has also tallied 21 ground balls and 15 draw controls.  Burgess capped the regular season by scoring a career-high four goals in each of the last two games. She also led the conference with four rookie of the week honors.


O’Leary, the 2011 and 2013 ALC Coach of the Year, led the Gators to their fourth consecutive ALC title and a top-seed in the ALC tournament. O’Leary has recorded a 78-20 record at Florida, including going 27-8 in the ALC.


Winners of the individual awards and All-Conference selections will be honored before each of the first-round games on Thursday, May 1. Florida will be honored before the first game at 2 p.m. between Penn State and Johns Hopkins. The Gators will play in the semifinal game on Friday, May 2 at 4:30 p.m. Florida will face the winner of game 1 between the No. 4 seed Penn State and the No. 5 seed Johns Hopkins.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


Offensive Player of the Year

Taylor D’Amore, Johns Hopkins


Midfield Player of the Year

Shannon Gilroy, Florida


Defensive Player of the Year

Lauren Purvis, Penn State


Goalie of the Year

Tori DeScenza, Ohio State


Rookie of the Year

Sammi Burgess, Florida


Coach of the Year

Amanda O’Leary, Florida


ALC First Team

Nora Barry, Florida

Sammy Cermack, Johns Hopkins

Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State

Madison Cyr, Penn State

Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins

Tori DeScenza, Ohio State

Taylor Donahue, Ohio State

Alyssa Dunlap, Vanderbilt

Shannon Gilroy, Florida

Kerri Harrington, Northwestern

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern

Lauren Purvis, Penn State


ALC Second Team

Bridget Bianco, Northwestern

Sammi Burgess, Florida

Katie Chase, Ohio State

Kaleigh Craig, Northwestern

Dené DiMartino, Johns Hopkins

Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida

Kate McDonald, Northwestern

Maggie McCormick, Penn State

Jenna Mosketti, Penn State

Anna Schueler, Michigan

Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins

Abby Wheeler, Vanderbilt



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.