Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Golf Headline


Monday April 28, 2014Gator Women Receive Bid for Central Regional of 2014 NCAA Championship

Gainesville, Fla.

The Florida women’s golf team was announced as part of the field for the 2014 NCAA Central Women’s Golf Regional tournament on Golf Channel on Monday night.


The Gators, who will compete as the No. 7 seed in the regional field, will be attempting to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 25th time in school history. Florida has now received a bid to participate in an NCAA regional in 21 of the 22 years since the current format began in 1993, only missing out in 1999.


The NCAA Central Regional will be hosted by Oklahoma State University and will be played on the par-72, 6,200-yard Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla.


A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.


The championships finals will be held May 20-23 at Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Okla., and will be co-hosted by the University of Tulsa and the Tulsa Sports Commission.


Three regional tournaments will be conducted, May 8-10, to determine the championship field. Along with the Central Regional, the East Regional will be played at the SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee, Fla., hosted by Florida State and the West Regional will be played at the Tumble Creek Club in Cle Elum, Wash., hosted by the University of Washington.


SEC Showdown: Five teams, four of which are ranked in the Golf World/WGCA Division I College Coaches’ Poll, will represent the SEC in the 2014 Central Regional: No. 5 Arkansas, No. 8 Alabama, No. 17 LSU, No. 20 Florida and Mississippi State


NCAA Central Regional Field (Conference automatic qualifiers)


2. Arkansas

3. Alabama

4. Arizona

5. LSU

6. Oklahoma State

7. Florida

8. North Carolina

9. Ohio State

10. Miami

11. Mississippi State

12. California

13. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)

14. Kansas

15. Texas

16. UNLV

17. Colorado

18. SMU

19. Minnesota

20. Harvard (Ivy Group)

21. Lamar (Southland Conference)

22. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)

23. LIU-Brooklyn (Northeast Conference)

24. Siena College (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)



1. Aurora Kan, Purdue University

2. Sanna Nuutinen, Texas Christian University

3. Jenna Hague, Ball State University

4. Ember Schuldt, University of Illinois, Champaign

5. Kimmie Hill, Texas Tech University

6. Stephanie Miller, University of Illinois, Champaign


Follow the Gators:




Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.