Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline

Friday April 25, 2014Shannon Gilroy Named Tewaaraton Nominee

Gainesville, Fla.

Junior midfielder Shannon Gilroy has been named a 2014 Tewaaraton Award nominee, as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Friday. The Tewaaraton Award honors the nation’s top male and female college lacrosse player.


Gilroy leads the nation with 75 goals and 91 points, in addition to leading Florida with 72 draw controls and 23 caused turnovers. She has been named the ALC Offensive Player of the Week three times and is the only player in the league to be awarded the honor more than once this season. Highlighting the season, Gilroy set or tied three program single-game records in the win over High Point with 10 draw controls and eight goals off of 13 shots. She has set a total of nine program records this season. Gilroy was also a Tewaaraton nominee in 2013, after finishing the season leading Florida with 52 goals and 59 draw controls and ranking second with 65 points.


The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced by on May 8 and will be invited to the May 29 ceremony in Washington.


The No. 3 Gators will return to action during the ALC tournament May 1-4 in Evanston, Ill. Florida is the No. 1 seed for the tournament, securing a first-round bye. The Gators will play in the semifinal game on Friday, May 2 at 4:30 p.m. Florida will face the winner of game 1 between the No. 4 and No. 5 seeds.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


Tewaaraton Award Nominees


Bridget Bianco, Northwestern - Jr., G

Nikki Boltja, Louisville - Sr., A

Frankie Caridi, Stony Brook - Sr., G

Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State - Jr., A

Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., M

Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Sr., A

Megan Douty, Maryland - Jr., D

Lucy Ferguson, Penn - Jr., G

Abbey Friend, North Carolina - Sr., A

Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Jr., M

Brooke Griffin, Maryland - Jr., A

Hannah Hook, Denver - Sr., G

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Sr., A

Meg Markham, Penn - Jr., D

Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Jr., A

Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Jr., M

Kaylin Morissette, Louisville - Soph., M

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., A

Marlee Paton, Loyola - Sr., A/M

Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Jr., M

Sloane Serpe, North Carolina - Sr., D

Jaclyn Sileo, LIU Post - Sr., A

Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Sr., M/D

Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Jr., A

Courtney Swan, Virginia - Jr., A

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., A

Taylor Virden, Duke - Sr., D


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.