Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Soccer Headline

The 2013 Gator soccer team held its annual banquet Tuesday evening.

Tuesday April 22, 2014Florida Soccer Holds Annual Team Awards Banquet Tuesday

Gainesville, Fla.

The 2013 Gator soccer team held its annual banquet Tuesday evening.

The University of Florida soccer team held its annual awards banquet Tuesday evening.


For the second consecutive year, the Most Valuable Player on defense when went to sophomore Christen Westphal. A National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-America second-team selection, Westphal started every match at center back. She led Florida’s field players with average of 89.04 minutes per match and turned in her first collegiate goal in the regular-season finale at Georgia. Westphal also earned spots on the All-Southeastern Conference first team and was a SEC All-Tournament selection.


2013 Florida Soccer Team Awards

Players’ Choice

Haley Reeb & Havana Solaun

Offensive MVP

Savannah Jordan

Defensive MVP

Christen Westphal

Erin Baxter Effort Award

Karina Gutsche

Leadership Award

Haley Reeb

Iron Gator

Claire Falknor

Karyn Hall Academic Excellence

Jillian Graff

Robin Fulton Academic Achievement

Tessa Andujar

Freshman Savannah Jordan picked up the Most Valuable Player on offense. She joined Westphal on the NSCAA All-America second team, All-SEC first- and SEC All-Tournament teams. Jordan was the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, marking the first time a freshman has received the honor. She shared the SEC lead and tied for third nationally in 2013 NCAA Division I play with 22 goals. That total also stands second all-time for Gator freshmen and is Florida’s highest season total since Abby Wambach turned in 31 as a senior in 2001.


Senior Haley Reeb and junior Havana Solaun shared the Players’ Choice Award, which is awarded to the athlete who makes the biggest impression both on and off the field, as voted on by the members of the team. The pair served as Florida’s co-captains in 2013. Reeb also received the 2013 Leadership Award.


The Iron Gator Award went to sophomore Claire Falknor for her strength and conditioning work in- and off-season. Junior center back Karina Gutsche is recipient of the Erin Baxter Effort Award, given to a player who pushes the team to higher levels. Falknor started the last 18 matches of the season and turned in a goal and three assists from her outside back position. Gutsche started every match in 2013 and was second among the team’s field players with her average of 85.54 minutes per match.


Junior Jillian Graff picked up the Karyn Hall Academic Excellence Award for her overall academic achievement. The Robin Fulton Academic Achievement Award, given to the player who displays hard work and determination in the classroom, was awarded to junior outside back Tessa Andujar. Both were among the 15 Gators who earned SEC Academic Honor Roll accolades in 2013.


The 2013 Gators posted an 18-5-1 record, which including claiming a share of the SEC title with a league record of 9-2. It was the 13th title in the program’s 19-year history.


Florida advanced to the NCAA Second Round and placed No. 10 on the final NSCAA rankings. It was the Gators’ 17th NCAA appearance.



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.