Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Basketball Headline


Thursday April 3, 2014Patric Young Wins 2014 NABC Pete Newell Big Man of the Year Award

Gainesville, Fla.

Florida senior center Patric Young has been honored with the 2014 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Pete Newell Big Man of the Year Award.


A powerful inside force for the Gators, Young has scored 1,288 points with 844 rebounds and connected on 58 percent of his field goal attempts throughout his career donning the Orange and Blue.


The 69 senior was selected as the 2014 SEC Defensive Player of the Year, recognizing his innate ability for pick-and-roll help and recovery defense and his ability to communicate coverage with guards. He has started all but two games, hitting 54 percent of his field goals while averaging 6.2 rebounds and 10.8 points per game.


Young has been selected as the SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year the past three seasons, making him the first person to win the award three times.


Pete Newell Big Man Award Winners (2000-2014)

2000 Marcus Fizer, Iowa State

2001 Jason Collins, Stanford

2002 Drew Gooden, Kansas

2003 David West, Xavier

2004 Emeka Okafor, Connecticut

2005 Andrew Bogut, Utah

2006 Glen Davis, Louisiana State

2007 Greg Oden, Ohio State

2008 Michael Beasley, Kansas State

2009 Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

2010 Greg Monroe, Georgetown

2011 JaJuan Johnson, Purdue

2012 Anthony Davis, Kentucky

2013 Mason Plumlee, Duke

2014 Patric Young, Florida

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.