Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Basketball Headline

Scottie Wilbekin

Monday March 31, 2014Wilbekin Selected as AP Third Team All-American

Gainesville, Fla.

Scottie Wilbekin

The Associated Press released their list of 15 student athletes to headline the 2014 menís college basketball AP All-American teams this afternoon.

Highlighting the third team is senior point guard Scottie Wilbekin who is currently averaging 13.4 points per game with a 40.7 field goal percentage, is hitting 39.6 percent from long range and has a 2.2 assist to turnover ratio. Wilbekin was named the 2014 SEC Player of the Year and earned First Team All-SEC honors.

Recognized as honorable mentions were seniors Patric Young and Casey Prather who have anchored Florida all season long. Young was named SEC Defensive Player of the Year and SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year for the third time in his career while Prather was also a First Team All-SEC selection with Wilbekin.

First Team

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Jabari Parker, Duke

Russ Smith, Louisville

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati


Second Team

Nick Johnson, Arizona

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Nik Stauskas, Michigan

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

T.J. Warren, N.C. State


Third Team

Cleanthony Early, Wichita State

Kyle Anderson, UCLA

Julius Randle, Kentucky

C.J. Fair, Syracuse

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida


Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order)

Karvel Anderson, Robert Morris; Cameron Ayers, Bucknell; Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico; Billy Baron, Canisius; Jerrelle Benimon, Towson; Davion Berry, Weber State; Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; De'Mon Brooks, Davidson; John Brown, High Point; Bryce Cotton, Providence.


Joel Embiid, Kansas; Tyler Ennis, Syracuse; Aaron Gordon, Arizona; Langston Hall, Mercer; Gary Harris, Michigan State; Tyler Haws, BYU; R.J. Hunter, Georgia State; Jordair Jett, Saint Louis; Shawn Jones, Middle Tennessee; DeAndre Kane, Iowa State (1 first-team vote).


J.J. Mann, Belmont; Javon McCrea, Buffalo; Daniel Mullings, New Mexico State; Aaric Murray, Texas Southern; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; Jacob Parker, Stephen F. Austin; Lamar Patterson, Pittsburgh; Adreian Payne, Michigan State (1); Casey Prather, Florida; Wesley Saunders, Harvard.


Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State (1); Juwan Staten, West Virginia; Keifer Sykes, Green Bay; Xavier Thames, San Diego State; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State (1); Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Alan Williams, UC Santa Barbara; Pendarvis Williams, Norfolk State; Patric Young, Florida.

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.