Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Basketball Headline


Monday March 17, 2014Gators Claim Associated Press SEC Honors

Gainesville, Fla.

Florida men’s basketball head coach Billy Donovan and senior guard Scottie Wilbekin picked up Associated Press SEC Coach of the Year and SEC Player of the Year honors on Monday, sweeping those categories after winning the same awards from the league’s coaches last week.


Wilbekin earned unanimous first-team All-SEC placement, and senior forward Casey Prather also earned first-team All-SEC recognition. Senior center Patric Young was named AP second-team All-SEC. The trio earned the same All-SEC team placement from the coaches, as well.


This marks the first time since 2001 that the Gators have placed two players on the AP first team (Brett Nelson and Udonis Haslem). It is the first time since 2007 that UF has had three players on the first and second teams (Al Horford first team, Corey Brewer and Joakim Noah second team).


Florida’s journey to the SEC Tournament title last weekend took them up against each of the other three members of the first team, Missouri’s Jabari Brown, Tennessee’s Jarnell Stokes and Kentucky’s Julius Randle.


Florida opens the 2014 NCAA Tournament on Thursday at 4:10 p.m. against the winner of Tuesday’s Albany vs. Mount St. Mary’s game.


2014 Associated Press All-SEC

First Team

Casey Prather, Florida, F, 6-6, Sr.

u-Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, G, 6-2, Sr.

u-Julius Randle, Kentucky, F, 6-9, Fr.

Jabari Brown, Missouri, G, 6-5, Jr.

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee, F, 6-8, Jr.


Second Team

Trevor Releford, Alabama, G, 6-0, Sr.

Patric Young, Florida, C, 6-9, Sr.

Jordan Mickey, LSU, F, 6-8, Fr.

Johnny O’Bryant, LSU, F, 6-9, Jr.

Jordan McRae, Tennessee, F, 6-6, Sr.


Honorable Mention

Chris Denson, Auburn, G, 6-2, Sr.

Kenny Gaines, Georgia, G, 6-3, So.

Charles Mann, Georgia, G, 6-5, So.

James Young, Kentucky, G-F, 6-6, Fr.

Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss, G, 6-2, Sr.

Jarvis Summers, Ole Miss, G, 6-3, Jr.

Rod Odom, Vanderbilt, F, 6-9, Sr.


Player of the Year – Scottie Wilbekin

Coach of the Year – Billy Donovan

Newcomer of the Year – u-Julius Randle




Florida Associated Press All-SEC Honors Under Donovan


First Team – Casey Prather, Scottie Wilbekin

Second Team – Patric Young



First Team – Erik Murphy

Honorable Mention – Kenny Boynton, Mike Rosario, Scottie Wilbekin, Patric Young



Second Team – Bradley Beal, Kenny Boynton

Honorable Mention – Erving Walker



First Team – Chandler Parsons

Second Team – Erving Walker

Honorable Mention – Kenny Boynton



First Team – Nick Calathes



Second Team – Nick Calathes



First Team – Al Horford

Second Team – Corey Brewer, Joakim Noah

Honorable Mention – Taurean Green



First Team – Joakim Noah

Second Team – Taurean Green

Honorable Mention – Al Horford



First Team – Anthony Roberson

Second Team – David Lee



First Team – Anthony Roberson

Second Team – Matt Walsh

Third Team – David Lee



First Team – Matt Bonner



First Team – Udonis Haslem

Second Team – Matt Bonner, Brett Nelson



First Team – Udonis Haslem, Brett Nelson



Second Team – Mike Miller

Third Team – Teddy Dupay, Udonis Haslem, Kenyan Weaks



Honorable Mention – Jason Williams

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.