Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Basketball Headline

Friday February 28, 2014Donovan and Prather Named 2014 USBWA Award Finalists

Gainesville, Fla.

Head Coach Billy Donovan has been named a candidate for U.S. Basketball Writers Associationís 2014 Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Award and senior forward Casey Prather has been named a finalist for the 2014 Oscar Robertson Trophy as announced by the organization on Thursday.


The USBWA has named a National Player of the Year and a National Coach of the Year since the 1958-59 season. The National Player of the Year award is the nationís oldest player of the year award and is the only one named after a former player, Oscar Robertson (University of Cincinnati). The National Coach of the Year award is named after legendary Oklahoma State coach, Henry Iba, who won 655 games and two national championships in 36 seasons.


Prather is averaging 14.8 points per game with a 60.6 field goal percentage and has scored double-figures in 21 of the 26 contests he has played in for Florida this season. The Gatorsí 15 conference wins are the most in program history, while their current 20-game winning streak is also a program record. Florida clinched the 2014 SEC Championship this week, is the number one team in the nation for the first time since 2007, and has equaled the best regular-season win total in Gator basketball history with their 26-2 record, matching the 2006-07 teamís 26 wins (26-5).


The 975-member USBWA will vote on the awards. The Oscar Robertson Trophy recipient will be announced Friday, April 4, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, at a press conference in conjunction with the NCAA Menís Final Four. The winner of the Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Award will be revealed prior to that, on Mar. 24.


Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Ballot

John Beilein


Tony Bennett


Larry Brown


Jim Crews

Saint Louis

Mick Cronin


Billy Donovan


Steve Fisher

San Diego State

Gregg Marshall

Wichita State

Greg McDermott


Jay Wright

















Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalists

Kyle Anderson


Cameron Bairstow

New Mexico

Cleanthony Early

Wichita State

Melvin Ejim

Iowa State

Tyler Ennis


C.J. Fair


Nick Johnson


Sean Kilpatrick


Doug McDermott


Shabazz Napier


Jabari Parker


Casey Prather


Julius Randle


Russ Smith


Andrew Wiggins























Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.