Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Swimming & Diving Headline

Saturday February 1, 2014Men's Swimming and Diving Ends Dual Meet Season Perfect, Women Drop Close One to Tennessee

Gainesville, Fla.

The second ranked Florida men (8-0, 5-0 SEC) completed a perfect dual meet season for the third consecutive season with a 179-121 win over No. 18 Tennessee (5-4, 3-2 SEC) on Senior Day for the Volunteers. The eighth ranked Florida women (5-3, 3-2 SEC) dropped a nail biter to No. 12 Tennessee (8-1, 4-1 SEC).


Florida men dominated the meet with wins in 10 of the 16 events. The Gators were led by senior and the only UF men’s two individual event winner Brad deBorde (Longwood, Fla.). deBorde swept the sprint events and led off the first place 400 freestyle relay.


The Gator women only tallied five event wins, but showed enough depth to take a five-point lead into the final event. The Volunteers captured the 400 free relay and also took third in the event to win the meet by a mere four points, the second smallest margin of victory possible in the dual format.


Florida’s distance group was one of the highlights of the meet for both UF teams. The women swept the 1000 free with a 1-2-3 finish behind senior Alicia Mathieu’s (Marlborough, Conn.) 9:51.75 and freshmen Autumn Finke (Clearwater, Fla.) and Danielle Valley (Bradenton, Fla.). The men matched the women with a 1-2-3 finish. Finke’s swim of 9:52.27 was a career low. Sophomore Arthur Frayler (Fort Washington, Pa.) won the race in 9:06.52 and was followed to the wall by junior Carlos Omana (Miami, Fla.) and redshirt sophomore Austin Manganiello (Miami, Fla.).


The Gators were unable to get into Knoxville until later Friday night after travel difficulties. After an unplanned 10-hour bus ride, Florida shook off rust to battle the Volunteers for all 32 events.


What’s Next: Florida will have 17 days off before the start of the Southeastern Conference Championships in Athens, Georgia.


Men’s Winners:

·         Sophomore Corey Main (Auckland, New Zealand) showed that he is back to where he was at the midseason meet, notching a 200 free win in an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:36.61. Main went 1:45.42 in the 200 backstroke for second.

·         Redshirt senior Sebastien Rousseau (Cape Town, South Africa) cruised to a win in the 200 butterfly with an NCAA ‘B’ cut mark of 1:46.90.

·         deBorde won the 50 free in 19.96 and the 100 free in 44.47. The senior is poised for a big postseason in the sprint events, breaking the 20-second barrier in the 50 free four times already in the spring.

·         Junior Matt Elliott (Peoria, Ill.) led a 1-2 finish in the 200 breaststroke, winning in 2:00.42.

·         Freshman Mitch D’Arrigo (Rome, Italy) guided the Gators to a 1-2 finish in the 500 free. D’Arrigo touched in 4:24.05 for the victory.

·         Senior Marcin Cieslak (Warsaw, Poland) led a 1-2 Gator finish in the 100 fly. Cieslak stopped the clock in an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 47.72.

·         Junior Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez (Madrid, Spain) notched a victory in the 200 individual medley with an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:47.45.

·         Florida men capped off the meet with a win in the 400 free relay. deBorde chipped in for his third overall win of the meet, making him the highest Gator scorer of the day, with a 44.26 leadoff split. Cieslak, Main and Rousseau finished the race and out touched Tennessee 2:55.32-2:55.99.

Women’s Winners:

·         Sophomore Sierra Kuhn (Verona, Wisc.) delivered her first win of the season, touching first in the 200 fly in a career best and NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:58.91.

·         Senior Elizabeth Beisel (North Kingstown, R.I.) earned her only victory of the day with an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:55.77 in the 200 backstroke.

·         Sophomore Delaney Dye (Tallahassee, Fla.) kept the Gators in the meet down 131-114 with three events to go by winning the one-meter with a career best score of 293.18.

·         With two events to go and the Gators facing a deficit, sophomore Lindsey McKnight (Coral Springs, Fla.) led a 1-2-3-4 finish for Florida in the 200 individual medley, giving Florida the five point lead heading into the final relay. McKnight posted a season low and NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 2:00.47.

Notable Performances:

·         Beisel touched in a season low in the 200 freestyle, placing second behind last year’s SEC Champion with a NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 1:46.88.

·         Cieslak cranked out his season low in the 100 backstroke, finishing in an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 48.62.

·         Redshirt sophomore Zach Hernandez (Johns Creek, Ga.) placed second on three-meter with a score of 322.20. Sophomore Kahlia Warner (Queensland, Australia) took second on the women’s three-meter.

·         With their backs against the wall, the Gators gutted out a 1-2-3-4 finish in the 200 IM. After McKnight won the event, senior Hilda Luthersdottir (Hafnarfjordur, Iceland), junior Rebecca Rainer (Richmond, Va.) and sophomore Ashlee Linn (Sarasota, Fla.) beat the rest of the field. Luthersdottir’s time of 2:02.22 was an NCAA ‘B’ cut.

·         In the 400 free relay, the Gators ‘A’ relay of sophomore Sinead Russell (Burlington, Ontario, Canada), senior Ellese Zalewski (Melbourne, Australia), Beisel and Kuhn finished in a time of 3:21.27.


Series History: The Gator men now lead the series 21-20. The Gators women lead the all-time series 26-2. 


Men’s Dual Streak: The Gator men have gone 23 straight dual meets without dropping a dual, a record that dates back to Jan. 21, 2011.


We’re On TV: Sun Sports will air a 60-minute show of last weekend’s UF-Auburn senior day meet at 10 a.m. tomorrow. The meet will air again the same day 9:30 p.m. and the following Sunday, Feb. 9, at 9:30 a.m.


Follow the Gators: For all the latest on Florida swimming and diving, stay tuned to To stay connected socially, ‘like’ Florida Swimming and Diving on Facebook and follow the Gators, @GatorZoneSwimDv, on Twitter.



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.