Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Tennis Headline

The 2013 Gators captured a share of their fourth consecutive SEC regular season title.

Friday January 17, 2014Florida Picked to Win 2014 SEC Women's Tennis Title


The 2013 Gators captured a share of their fourth consecutive SEC regular season title.

The University of Florida was selected to successfully repeat as Southeastern Conference champions in preseason poll of the league’s women’s tennis coaches, the league announced Friday.


The Gators finished as tri-champions last season when the captured at least a share of the SEC regular title for the fourth consecutive year and for the 26th time in the 33 years the conference has sponsored the sport.


Last season, the Gators finished 26-3 overall, including 12-1 in the SEC.


The preseason poll is voted on by the women’s tennis head coach at each institution and is based on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 vote.       The team they vote in the number one spot gets their vote for overall champion, with each vote counting as one point.


The complete tally for the poll:


Team                           Points

Florida                         191

Georgia                       184

Texas A&M                 164

Alabama                     149

Vanderbilt                   143

Auburn                         125

South Carolina           96

Ole Miss                      89

Tennessee                  86

Kentucky                     74

Arkansas                     62

LSU                              52

Missouri                       31

Mississippi State        24



Many of the teams begin action this weekend as dual season began, the official ITA kick-off weekend begins on January 24.


Florida launches its dual match season next Saturday, January 25 at home against Louisville in the ITA Kick-Off first round.


For all of the latest information on Florida women’s tennis:

Official Website:

Twitter: @GatorZoneTennis



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.