Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Wednesday September 18, 2013Wes Chandler Announced as 2013 SEC Legend

Gainesville, Fla.

Former Gator wide receiver Wes Chandler has been named a 2013 Southeastern Conference Legend, as announced by the league office on Wednesday.


The 2013 SEC Legends Class includes 14 former SEC stars who have made a name for themselves as great athletes on the field. The conference in announcing legends from the Eastern Division on Wednesday and will recognize those from the Western Division on Thursday.


A first-team All-American for the Gators in both 1976 and 1977, Wes Chandler is one of the most revered receivers in Florida history, leading the team in receiving three straight years.  He hauled in 92 passes in his career, good for 1,963 yards and a then-school record 22 touchdowns.  He now sits at No. 8 on the career touchdowns board. He finished his career with the Gators as the highest-scoring non-kicker in Florida’s history.


He was also an Academic All-American his senior season.  Drafted by the New Orleans Saints, he enjoyed an 11-year career in the NFL.  He played in four Pro Bowls for the Saints and San Diego Chargers and he was an All-Pro wide receiver for the Chargers in 1982.  He went on to a professional and college coaching career.


Chandler, along with the SEC Legends from other schools, will be honored at the SEC Legends Dinner in Atlanta, Ga., on Friday, Dec. 6. Chandler will also attend the “Weekend of Champions” festivities, which culminates with the SEC Championship Game at the Georgia Dome on Saturday, Dec. 7.



1994 – Neal Anderson, Running Back, 1982-85

1995 – Jack Youngblood, Defensive End, 1966, 1969-70

1996 – Nat Moore, Running Back, 1972-73

1997 – Carlos Alvarez, Wide Receiver, 1969-71

1998 – Glenn Cameron, Linebacker, 1972-74

1999 – Kerwin Bell, Quarterback, 1984-87

2000 – John Reaves, Quarterback, 1969-71

2001 – Huey Richardson, Defensive End, 1987-90

2002 – Brad Culpepper, Defensive Tackle, 1988-91

2003 – Larry Smith, Running Back, 1966-68

2004 – Lomas Brown, Offensive Tackle, 1981-84

2005 – Trace Armstrong, Defensive Lineman, 1988

2006 – Louis Oliver, Defensive Back, 1985-88

2007 – Ralph Ortega, Linebacker, 1972-74

2008 – Errict Rhett, Running Back, 1991-93

2009 – Reidel Anthony, Wide Receiver, 1994-96

2010– Kevin Carter, Defensive End, 1991-94

2011– Ike Hilliard, Wide Receiver, 1994-96

2012 – Steve Tannen, Defensive Cornerback, 1967-69

2013 – Wes Chandler, wide receiver, 1974-77


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.