Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Soccer Headline

Sarah Yohe Cohen is the fifth soccer Gator to join the UF Athletic Hall of Fame

Wednesday September 11, 2013Sarah Yohe among University of Florida 2014 UF Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Gainesville, Fla.

Sarah Yohe Cohen is the fifth soccer Gator to join the UF Athletic Hall of Fame

All-America soccer player Sarah Yohe Cohen is among the seven Gator Greats who will be inducted into the 2014 UF Athletic Hall of Fame, the University of Florida F Club and Gator Boosters, Inc., announced Wednesday.


UF Athletic Hall of Fame – Soccer Inductees


Induction Class

Erin Baxter McCorkle


Danielle Fotopoulos


Heather Mitts


Abby Wambach


Sarah Yohe Cohen


The 2014 Hall of Fame class of seven Gator Greats and one Distinguished Letterwinner will join the 384 existing UF Hall of Famers next spring. The 2014 UF Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held on Friday, March 7, at 6 p.m. in the Holloway Touchdown Terrace at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. 


Scoring some of the biggest goals in the history of the Gator program, Yohe Cohen still stands No. 4 all-time on the Gators career goals list with 60 over her four-year career.


Yohe Cohen’s first goal as a freshman in 1996 gave the Gators’ their first victory over a top-10 team, as Florida defeated then No. 9 Virginia 1-0. Later that season in the Southeastern Conference Tournament final, it was Yohe Cohen’s golden goal which gave the Gators’ a 3-2 win over Arkansas and the program’s first league title. In the program’s first NCAA College Cup appearance in 1998, Yohe Cohen scored the only goal of the match, ending Santa Clara’s shutout streak of 1,268:29 minutes, which still stands No. 2 all-time in NCAA Division I history. That goal sent Florida to the NCAA Championship match and Yohe Cohen was among the five Gators named to the College Cup All-Tournament team after the Gators won the title 1-0 over North Carolina.


Yohe Cohen earned National Soccer Coaches Association of American (NSCAA) All-America second team honors as senior in 1999. That same season, she picked up the SEC Player of the Year honor and tied for third nationally with a career-high 24 goals. She had a least a goal in nine consecutive matches of her senior season, a total which is second to the 10 turned in by fellow Gator Athletic Hall of Fame member Abby Wambach in 2001.


Joining Yohe Cohen among the Gator Greats inductees are Aury Cruz (Volleyball), Jenny Gladding (Softball), Justin O’Neal (Men’s Tennis), Keiwan Ratliff (Football), Colleen Rosensteel (Women’s Track & Field) and Mike Stanley (Baseball). Former UF swimmer, lifetime member of swimming and diving’s Splash Club and Gator Boosters Board of Directors member Harrison “Harry” Wilder will be inducted into the UF Athletic Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Letterwinner .


Each year, the F Club Committee selects members to the Hall of Fame, divided into three different categories: Gator Greats, Distinguished Letterwinners and Honorary Letterwinners. 


Gator Greats are letterwinners who have brought recognition and prominence to the University and themselves by athletic accomplishments as a student-athlete. Distinguished Letterwinners are former student-athletes who have made major contributions to the University’s athletic program through personal time, effort, interest and many years of continued service. They also have distinguished themselves as exceptional in their chosen field of endeavor.


Honorary Letterwinners are coaches and athletic officials (after retirement) who were not letterwinners/athletes at the University of Florida, yet have rendered outstanding service to the intercollegiate athletic program through personal time, effort, interest and through many years of continued service.


Please contact Gator Boosters at (352) 375-4683 x 5000 for information on attending the 2014 Hall of Fame Induction Banquet.



Aury Cruz (Volleyball 2000-03)

Three-time AVCA All-American…Three-time SEC Player of the Year…2000 SEC Freshman of the Year…Holds program record for kills (1,815) and points (2,188.5)…Ranks second in kills per set (4.58), attacks (4,096), service aces (220), service aces per set (.56), digs per set (3.33) and points per set (5.53) …Sixth in career digs (1,320).


Jenny Gladding (Softball 2003-04)

A 2003 All-SEC selection…Third lowest career ERA at UF (1.20)…Third most strikeouts in a season (285, 2003)…Recorded one perfect game and one no-hitter.


Justin O’Neal (Men’s Tennis 1997-00)

Three-time All-American…First Freshman All-American in UF history…Two-time All-SEC selection…Ranks first in career singles wins and second overall in career wins.


Keiwan Ratliff (Football 2000-03)

The 2003 SEC Defensive Player of the Year…2003 First Team All-American…Two-time All-SEC selection at Florida.


Colleen Rosensteel (Women’s Track & Field 1986-89)

Six-time All-American in both the discus and shot put…Six-time SEC Champion (4-shot put; 2-discus).


Mike Stanley (Baseball 1982-85)

Three-time All-SEC…Ranked in the top 10 in UF history for batting average, games played, hits and runs scored.


Sarah Yohe (Soccer 1996-99)

The 1999 SEC Player of the Year…1998 NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team…Tied for second in UF History for game-winning goals (18)…Ranks fourth in UF History in goals (60), hat-tricks (3), assists (33) and shots (315)…three-time selection to the SEC Academic Honor Roll…Named of UF’s Outstanding Leaders at the fall, 2000 commencement ceremony.




Harrison “Harry” Wilder (Swimming 1961-63)

Earned five All-SEC honors…A member of five SEC Championship relay teams…Member of three SEC Championship Teams (‘61, ’62 and ’63)…Owned and operated eight successful McDonald’s franchises in Gulf Breeze, Fla….Member of the Gator Boosters Board of Directors and past member of the F Club Committee…Lifetime member of the Splash Club…Major supporter of UF’s Swimming and Diving program.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.