Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Track & Field Headline

Friday July 19, 2013Five Gators Named to SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll

Gainesville, Fla.

Five University of Florida track & field student-athletes were named to the 2012-13 Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll by league commissioner Mike Slive. Grades from the 2012-13 academic year are used to determine the 2013 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll.


Eddie Romero (Pembroke Pines, Fla.) and NCAA Champion Antwan Wright (Riviera Beach, Fla.) were the menís selections, while Shelby Davidson (Melbourne, Fla.), Kyra Jefferson (Detroit, Mich.) and Hana Sladick (Naples, Fla.) were honored on the womenís side. Wright led off the Gator menís 4x100-meter relay at the NCAA Outdoor Championships, aiding Florida in a .01-second victory over Alabama in the event and earning First Team All-America honors. Jefferson was a Second Team All-America selection in the womenís 200 meters with a PR of 23.43 indoors.


The 56 total Gator student-athletes honored academically by the SEC gives Florida a total of 242 student-athletes who were named to a 2012-13 SEC Academic Honor Roll. Florida placed 186 on the SEC Academic Honor Rolls (46 on fall list; 44 winter, 96 on spring) and 56 on the First-Year Honor Roll.


To be recognized to the SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll, each student-athlete must 1) have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship, a letterwinner; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sportís entire NCAA Championship segment.


For all of the latest information on Florida track and field, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida track and field on Twitter at @GZTrackField You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


University of Florida
Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll Recipients




Eddie Romero

Men's Track & Field

Social & Behavioral Sciences

Antwan Wright

Men's Track & Field

Human Nutrition

Shelby Davidson

Women's Track & Field

Social & Behavioral Sciences

Kyra Jefferson

Women's Track & Field

Social & Behavioral Sciences

Hana Sladick

Women's Track & Field

Social & Behavioral Sciences


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.