Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline

Thursday July 18, 2013Florida Lacrosse Has Ten Players Named to 2012-13 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll

Gainesville, Fla.

Ten members of the University of Florida’s women’s lacrosse team were named to the 2012-13 Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll, as announced by the league office earlier this week. Overall, 56 Florida student-athletes were named to the list.


The honorees are: Sam Darcangelo (Freeland, Md.), Sydney DuPre (Houston, Texas), Angela Flister (Eldersburg, Md.), Lauren Lea (Elkridge, Md.), Darcy Messina (Sayville, N.Y.), Carly Ross (Freeland, Md.), Jackie Rupp (Herndon, Va.), Devon Schneider (Lititz, Pa.), Lizzie Strazza (Denver, Colo.) and Mary-Sean Wilcox (Lutherville, Md.). The lacrosse team’s 10 student-athletes were the most of any Gator team to be named to the list.


“I’m very proud of the girls,” said head coach Mandee O’Leary. “Our team works very hard both on and off the field and this is a great example of the girls being committed to their academics early in their careers at Florida. It’s exciting to see them honored for their dedication.”


To be recognized to the SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll, each student-athlete must 1) have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship, a letterwinner; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.