Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Swimming & Diving Headline

Tuesday July 16, 2013Eight Gators Named to SEC First Year Honor Roll

Gainesville, Fla.

Eight members of the University of Florida Swimming and Diving program were named to the Southeastern Conference First Year Academic Honor Roll, as announced by Commissioner Mike Slive on Monday. Grades from the 2012-13 academic year are used to determine the 2013 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll. Overall, 56 UF student-athletes were named to the list.


Five members of the women’s program and three from the men’s swimming team were named to the prestigious list for their academic achievements outside the pool during their freshman seasons. Delaney Dye (Tallahassee, Fla.-Sport Management), Natalie Hinds (Midland, Texas-Telecommunications), Sierra Kuhn (Verona, Wis.-Social and Behavioral Sciences), Jessica Thielmann (Newcastle, England-Sport Management) and Julia Hackett (Sunrise-Journalism) represented the women’s team and Adam Bull (Dallas, Texas- Political Science), Justin Kaisrlik (Clermont, Fla.-Zoology) and Ryan Rosenbaum (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.-Political Science) represented the men’s group.


All eight of the freshmen developed throughout the season and showed signs of being long term contributors. Hinds and Thielmann played an important role in helping the women’s team finish sixth at the NCAA Championships. Hinds, the SEC Freshman of the Year, tied for the team lead this past season with seven All-America honors, set the program record in the 100 freestyle (47.73) and swam on the school record 400 free relay (3:12.96). Thielmann earned her first two career NCAA All-America honors after finishing sixth in the mile and 10th in the 500 free at the national meet.


“We pride ourselves on having good students here,” Head Coach Gregg Troy said. “Our women’s team, I think we’ve had the highest GPA of any of the top-15 teams in the last five to 10 years. That is a real focal point. To have freshmen coming in with that same sort of goal and same sort of commitment, it is just great for the program. It is a real compliment to those individuals, especially when they can become All-Americans in the water at the same time.”


In addition, Bull and Rosenbaum were both point scorers on the 2013 SEC Championship men’s squad.


To be recognized to the SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll, each student-athlete must 1) have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship, a letter winner; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.


For updates on the Gator Swimming and Diving program, please visit or follow @GatorZoneSwimDv on Twitter.



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.