Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Tennis Headline

Caroline Hitimana was honored for the third time.

Tuesday July 2, 2013Five Gator Women's Tennis Players Selected to SEC Academic Honor Roll

Gainesville, Fla.

Caroline Hitimana was honored for the third time.

All five upperclassmen of the Gator women’s tennis team were named to the 2013 Southeastern Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll, announced Tuesday by league commissioner Mike Slive.


Caroline Hitimana (Waterloo, Belgium) made her third appearance on the league’s Honor Roll, while Lauren Embree (Marco Island, Fla.), Alexandra Cercone (Seminole, Fla.), Olivia Janowicz (Palm Bay, Fla.) and Sofie Oyen (Leopoldsburg, Belgium) were honored for the second time.


The 2013 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2012 summer, fall and 2013 spring terms.


Five on Florida’s of 96 student-athletes earning recognition on the 2013 Spring list also claimed conference athlete of the year honors for their sport. Long and triple jumper Marquis Dendy is the 2013 SEC indoor field athlete of the year while Embree picked up her third SEC Tennis Player of the Year honor. Three were honored as American Lacrosse Conference Player of the Year – Kitty Cullen (offensive), Brittany Dashiell (midfield) and Sam Farrell (defensive). That trio of lacrosse players also received their degrees in May.


For the 2012-13 season, a total of 186 Gators earned spots on the SEC Academic Honor Roll (46 on fall list; 44 winter), making UF the only SEC school to place 100 or more student-athletes on the Academic Honor Roll each of the last 16 years.


To be recognized to the SEC Academic Honor Roll, each student-athlete must 1) have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship, a letterwinner or have participated on a varsity team for two years if non-scholarship; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.


University of Florida

Southeastern Conference Academic Honor Roll Women’s Tennis Recipients - Spring




Alexandra Cercone

Women's Tennis


Lauren Embree

Women's Tennis

Sport Management

Caroline Hitimana

Women's Tennis


Olivia Janowicz

Women's Tennis

Political Science

Sofie Oyen

Women's Tennis




For all of the latest information on Florida women’s tennis:

Official Website:

Twitter: @GatorZoneTennis  and  @GatorZoneNews



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.