Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Swimming & Diving Headline


Monday June 24, 2013Former and Current Gators Set to Compete at the 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships

Indianapolis, Ind.

A group of 12 current and former Gator swimmers will take to the water in Indianapolis, Ind. at the IUPUI Natatorium for the 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships from Tuesday, June 25 through Saturday, June 29.


The event serves as the qualification for the 15th FINA World Championships in Barcelona, Spain, July 19-August 4, 2013. In order to qualify for the USA team for the 2013 FINA World Championships, swimmers must be one of the top two finishers in each of the Olympic events other than the 100 and 200 freestyle. The four highest finishers in the 100 and 200 freestyles will make the USA World Championship roster and the winner in each of the non-Olympic events will qualify.


Florida will have a talented group representing the Orange and Blue in Indianapolis, including three 2012 Olympic medalists. Ryan Lochte and Conor Dwyer, who still train in Gainesville, are the only former Gators in the group. Junior Elizabeth Beisel (North Kingstown, R.I.), freshman Natalie Hinds (Midland, Texas), freshman Ashlee Linn (Southfield, Mich.) and junior Alicia Mathieu (Marlborough, Conn.) will represent the womenís swimming and diving team.


Joining Lochte and Dwyer on the menís side will be junior Brad deBorde (Longwood, Fla.), sophomore Matt Elliott (Peoria, Ill.), freshman Arthur Frayler (Fort Washington, Pa.), sophomore Carlos Omana (Miami, Fla.) and junior Connor Signorin (East Windsor, N.J.).


Lochte is currently marked for 11 events at the National Championships. The gold medalist in the 400 IM in London, Lochte is coming off of the Santa Clara Grand Prix where he won four of his six events and finished second in the other two. Also having a strong off-season is Dwyer who joined the 800 free relay for gold in the London Olympics. Dwyer finished second in the 200m and 400m free in Santa Clara and is currently the top seed in the 400m free.


The first dayís action will kickoff with the 200 fly that will feature 2013 NCAA 400 IM Champion Beisel. She is slated to compete in seven events, including the 400 IM and 200 back which she won Olympic medals in this past summer at the London games. Hinds and deBorde led the Gators sprint group this season as they will dive in to the water in the 100 free on the first day. The distance specialists Mathieu and Frayler will compete in the 800 free and 1,500 free respectively.


Most notably, the individual medley events could feature a large number of swimmers for the Orange and Blue. The 400 IM is set to take place on Thursday and could include Beisel for the women and Lochte, Dwyer, Signorin, Omana and Elliott for the men. The 200 IM looks similar, with Linn also competing for the UF women and all but Elliott on tap for the men.†


All prelims will begin at 9 a.m. ET each day and then finals will take place at 6 p.m. ET. For full meet information you can visit USA Swimming here and the direct link to the meet results here. The entire meet of the 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships will be streamed live and a full television schedule is below.


Gator fans are encouraged to follow the swimming and diving program via Twitter or Facebook for live updates from the 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships. For all of the latest information on Florida swimming, please log on to where you can find a recap of each dayís results.


Television Schedule


Time (ET)



Tuesday, June 25

6-8 p.m.

Universal Sports Network

Wednesday, June 26

6-8:30 p.m.

Universal Sports Network

Saturday, June 29

1-2:30 p.m.


Saturday, June 29

11 p.m.-midnight

NBC Sports Network



2013 Phillips 66 National Championships Schedule of Events


Tuesday, June 25


Gator Swimmers

Womenís 200m Fly

Elizabeth Beisel

Menís 200m Fly


Womenís 100m Free

Natalie Hinds

Menís 100m Free

Ryan Lochte, Conor Dwyer, Brad deBorde

Womenís 800m Free*

Alicia Mathieu

Menís 1500m Free*

Arthur Frayler

*Slowest to fastest, alternating W/M as required. Top heats of Events 5 & 6 will swim at Finals

Wednesday, June 26

Womenís 200m Free

Elizabeth Beisel

Menís 200m Free

Ryan Lochte, Conor Dwyer

Womenís 200m Breast


Menís 200m Breast

Matt Elliott

Womenís 200m Back

Elizabeth Beisel, Ashlee Linn

Menís 200m Back

Ryan Lochte, Connor Signorin, Carlos Omana

Womenís 50m Fly

Natalie Hinds

Menís 50m Fly

Ryan Lochte

Thursday, June 27

Womenís 400m IM

Elizabeth Beisel

Menís 400m IM

Ryan Lochte, Conor Dwyer, Carlos Omana, Connor Signorin, Matt Elliott

Womenís 100m Fly

Natalie Hinds

Menís 100m Fly

Ryan Lochte

Womenís 50m Breast


Menís 50m Breast

Matt Elliott, Ryan Lochte

Womenís 50m Back


Menís 50m Back

Ryan Lochte

Friday, June 28

Womenís 400m Free

Elizabeth Beisel, Alicia Mathieu

Menís 400m Free

Conor Dwyer, Arthur Frayler

Womenís 100m Breast


Menís 100m Breast

Matt Elliott, Ryan Lochte

Womenís 100m Back

Elizabeth Beisel

Menís 100m Back

Ryan Lochte

Saturday, June 29

Womenís 200m IM

Elizabeth Beisel, Ashlee Linn

Mení 200m IM

Ryan Lochte, Conor Dwyer, Connor Signorin, Carlos Omana

Womenís 50m Free

Natalie Hinds

Menís 50m Free

Brad deBorde

Womenís 1,500m Free*

Alicia Mathieu

Menís 800m Free*

Arthur Frayler

*Slowest to fastest, alternating W/M as required. Top heats of Events 35 & 38 will swim at Finals


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.