Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Monday May 27, 2013Gator Baseball Earns NCAA Regional Berth, Faces Austin Peay On Friday

Gainesville, Fla.

The University of Florida baseball team learned on Monday afternoon that it was awarded the No. 3 seed at the Bloomington (Ind.) Regional for the 2013 NCAA Baseball Tournament that begins on Friday. Making their 29th Regional appearance and sixth in a row under head coach Kevin O’Sullivan, the third-seeded Gators (29-28) will face second-seeded Austin Peay (45-13) at 1 p.m. on ESPN3. Top-seeded Indiana (43-14) will meet fourth-seeded Valparaiso (31-26) later in the day at 7 p.m. This appearance marks the first time in school history that the same head coach has taken UF to six-straight Regionals.


The Regional continues through Sunday, with a final game to be played Monday night, if necessary. The Bloomington Regional winner will face the winner of the Tallahassee Regional in a Super Regional series next weekend. The eight Super Regional winners advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.


UF is 85-60 (.586) all-time in NCAA Tournament action and has reached the CWS eight times: 1988, 1991, 1996, 1998, 2005, 2010, 2011 and 2012. Last season, the Gators defeated Bethune-Cookman (4-0) and Georgia Tech twice (6-2 and 15-3) to sweep the Gainesville Regional before handling NC State twice to win the Gainesville Super Regional.


2013 NCAA Bloomington Regional Schedule


Friday, May 31

Game 1: 1 p.m. – No. 2 Austin Peay (45-13) vs. No. 3 FLORIDA (29-28) (ESPN3)

Game 2: 7 p.m. – No. 1 Indiana (43-14) vs. No. 4 Valparaiso (31-26) (ESPN3)


Saturday, June 1

Game 3: 2 p.m. – Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2 (ESPN3)

Game 4: 6 p.m. – Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2 (ESPN3)


Sunday, June 2

Game 5: 1 p.m. – Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4 (ESPN3)

Game 6: 7 p.m. – Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5 (ESPN3)


Monday, June 3

Game 7: (if necessary) – 7 p.m. - Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6 (ESPN3)


The national top eight seeds are North Carolina (52-8), Vanderbilt (51-9), Oregon State (45-10), LSU (52-9), Cal State Fullerton (48-8), Virginia (47-10), Florida State (44-15) and Oregon (45-14).


The Southeastern Conference (SEC) led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with nine, while the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) has eight institutions. The Pacific-12 Conference and the Sun Belt Conference each have four selected.


Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 31, to Monday, June 3 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 3, at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).


The 67th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 15, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.



Southeastern                        9 (Alabama, Arkansas, FLORIDA, LSU, Mississippi State, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas A&M,  Vanderbilt)

Atlantic Coast                       8 (Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (FL), North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia, Virginia Tech)

Pac-12                                   4 (Arizona State, Oregon, Oregon State, UCLA)

Sun Belt                                 4 (Florida Atlantic, UL-Lafayette, South Alabama, Troy)

Big 12                                    3 (Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State)

Big West                                3 (Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, UC Santa Barbara)

Colonial                                 3 (Towson, UNC Wilmington, William & Mary)

Atlantic Sun                          2 (East Tennessee State, Mercer)

Big East                                 2 (Connecticut, Louisville)

Big South                              2 (Coastal Carolina, Liberty)

Big Ten                                  2 (Illinois, Indiana)

Mountain West                    2 (New Mexico, San Diego State)

Southland                             2 (Central Arkansas, Sam Houston State)

West Coast                           2 (San Diego, San Francisco)

America East                        1 (Binghamton)

Atlantic-10                            1 (Saint Louis)

Conference USA                 1 (Rice)

Horizon                                  1 (Valparaiso)

Ivy                                           1 (Columbia)

Metro Atlantic                      1 (Canisius)

Mid-American                      1 (Bowling Green)

Mid-Eastern                          1 (Savannah State)

Missouri Valley                    1 (Wichita State)

Northeast                              1 (Bryant)

Ohio Valley                           1 (Austin Peay)

Patriot                                    1 (Army)

Southern                               1 (Elon)

Southwestern                       1 (Jackson State)

Summit                                  1 (South Dakota State)

Western Athletic                   1 (UTSA)


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.