Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Track & Field Headline

Photo: Tim Casey

Friday May 17, 2013Clark Named SEC Men's Freshman Runner of the Year

Gainesville, Fla.

Photo: Tim Casey

Florida freshman Jimmy Clark (St. Johns, Fla.) was named the Southeastern Conference Menís Freshman Runner of the Year, as announced by the conference Friday as part of the 2013 SEC Outdoor Track and Field Awards.


Clark was the 2013 SEC menís 10,000-meter champion, winning the event in a time of 29:44.54. He became the first freshman in school history to win the menís SEC 10K title and the fifth overall athlete in program annals to accomplish that feat. He shaved 17 seconds off his personal-best for a third-place finish in the menís 5,000 meters at the SEC Championships with a time of 13:58.24, which is good for third all-time at Florida.


Along with Clark, who earned two SEC All-Freshman Team nods and an SEC First Team honor, the Gators earned 25 All-SEC accolades from the SEC Outdoor Championships. Other members of the Orange and Blue with multiple honors include fellow freshmen Arman Hall (Pembroke Pines, Fla.) and Marija Vucenovic (Sremska Mitrovica, Serbia).


Next up for the Gators is the NCAA East Preliminary Round, hosted by North Carolina A&T State at the Irwin Belk Track & Field Center. The three-day meet begins Thursday, May 23 and runs through Saturday, May 25. Florida has been awarded 48 qualifiers (22 men, 26 women) for the NCAA East Preliminary Round.


The Gator men are the defending NCAA Outdoor Champions and have placed in the top three at the last four NCAA Outdoor Championships, while the Florida women recorded a third-place finish at the 2010 NCAA Outdoor Championships.


For all of the latest information on Florida track and field, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida track and field on Twitter at @GZTrackField or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


2013 SEC Outdoor Track and Field Awards

Menís Coach of the Year: Chris Bucknam, Arkansas
Menís Runner of the Year: Isiah Young, Ole Miss
Menís Field Athlete of the Year: Damar Forbes, LSU
Menís Freshman Runner of the Year: Jimmy Clark, Florida
Menís Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Menís Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Nathanael Franks, Arkansas

Womenís Coach of the Year: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
Womenís Runner of the Year: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Womenís Field Athlete of the Year: Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Womenís Freshman Runner of the Year: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
Womenís Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Womenís Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky

Menís All-SEC First Team
Shermond Allsop, LSU
Ricky Babineaux, Texas A&M
Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Texas A&M
Diondre Batson, Alabama
Rodney Brown, LSU
Kemoy Campbell, Arkansas
Jimmy Clark, Florida
Omar Craddock, Florida

Caleb Cross, Arkansas
Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M
Aaron Ernest, LSU
Damar Forbes, LSU
Sam Humphreys, Texas A&M
Andrew Irwin, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
Leoman Momoh, Arkansas
Marcus Popenfoose, Auburn
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Carlyle Roudette, Texas A&M
DJ Smith, Auburn
Kyle Strawn, Florida
Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Isiah Young, Ole Miss

Menís All-SEC Second Team
Marquis Dendy, Florida
Raymond Dykstra, Kentucky
Andrew Evans, Kentucky
Dushane Farrier, Alabama
Justin Fondren, Alabama
Akheem Gauntlett, Arkansas
Najee Glass, Florida
Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida

Solomon Haile, Arkansas
Arman Hall, Florida
Akeem Haynes, Alabama
Scottie Hearns, Mississippi State
Matt Hillenbrand, Kentucky
Matthew Hoty, Tennessee
Stanley Kebenei, Arkansas
Sam Kendricks, Ole Miss
Kevin Lazas, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Eddie Lovett, Florida
Sean Obinwa, Florida
Jeremy Postin, Florida

Alex Sanders, Alabama
Leonardo Seymore, Florida
Ameer Webb, Texas A&M

Menís SEC All-Freshman Team
100m: Markesh Woodson, Missouri
110mH: Jermaine Collier, South Carolina
200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
400m: Arman Hall, Florida
400mH: Scottie Hearns, Mississippi State
800m: Hector Hernandez, Texas A&M
1,500m: Robbie Farnham-Rose, Alabama
Steeplechase: MacKay Wilson, Kentucky
5,000m: Jimmy Clark, Florida
10,000m: Jimmy Clark, Florida

High Jump: Justin Fondren, Alabama
Pole Vault: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
Long Jump: Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas
Triple Jump, Imani Brown, Alabama
Shot Put: Ashinia Miller, Georgia
Discus: Ashinia Miller, Georgia
Hammer Throw: Elias Hakansson, Alabama
Javelin: Piotr Antosik, Mississippi State
Decathlon: Maicel Uibo, Georgia

Womenís All-SEC First Team
Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Saniel Atkinson-Grier, Georgia
Ciarra Brewer, Florida
Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M
Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Doniqueí Flemings, Texas A&M
Gwendolyn Flowers, Arkansas
Regina George, Arkansas
Natoya Goule, LSU
Carly Hamilton, Georgia
Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas
Morgann Leleux, Georgia
Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
Sparkle McKnight, Arkansas
LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky
Kearsten Peoples, Missouri
Ashton Purvis, Texas A&M
LaKeidra Stewart, Texas A&M
Elizabeth Tepe, Georgia
Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M
Marija Vucenovic, Florida
Chrishuna Williams, Arkansas

Womenís All-SEC Second Team
Kierre Beckles, South Carolina
Leslie Boozer, Georgia
Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Ebony Eutsey, Florida
Destinee Gause, Florida

Denise Hinton, LSU
Jessie Johnson, Auburn
Megan Malasarte, Georgia
Latoya McDermott, LSU
Cory McGee, Florida
Fawn Miller, Florida

Valentina Muzaric, Auburn
Ugonna Ndu, Florida
Takeia Pinckney, LSU
Robin Reynolds, Florida
Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina
Agata Strausa, Florida
Toshika Sylvester, LSU
Semehar Tesfaye, Arkansas
Lanie Whittaker, Florida

Womenís SEC All-Freshman Team
100m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
100mH: Racquel Moses, Ole Miss
200m: Felicia Brown, Tennessee
400m: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
400mH: Tyler Brockington, South Carolina
800m: Andria Aguilar, LSU
1,500m: Lily Williams, Vanderbilt
Steeplechase: Jessica Kamilos, Arkansas
5,000m: Jessica Kamilos, Arkansas
10,000m: Katelyn Greenleaf, Alabama
High Jump: Leontia Kallenou, Georgia
Poole Vault: Jessie Johnson, Auburn
Long Jump: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Triple Jump: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Shot Put: Cassie Wertman, Tennessee
Discus: Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M
Hammer Throw: Daina Levy, Auburn
Javelin: Marija Vucenovic, Florida
Heptathlon: Jennifer Cannon, Vanderbilt

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.