Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline


Tuesday May 7, 2013Six Gators Earn IWLCA All-South Region Honors

Gainesville, Fla.

­Six University of Florida Lacrosse players have earned Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-South Region honors, announced by the organization today.  It marks the second year in a row the Orange and Blue have earned all six of its nominees on the All-Region teams. In addition, four Gators repeat as selections from 2012.


Florida places five of the six selections on the first team as seniors in ALC Players of the Year Kitty Cullen (Rockville, Md.), Brittany Dashiell (Bel Air, Md.), Mikey Meagher (Liverpool, N.Y.) and Sam Farrell (Millersville, Md.) along with sophomore midfielder and All-ALC First Team honoree Shannon Gilroy (Northport, N.Y.).  Senior attack Ashley Bruns (Ellicott City, Md.) round out the Gators honors with a spot on the second team. Bruns was also an All-ALC Second Team pick.  Cullen, Dashiell, Meagher and Farrell all return on the All-Region team from a season ago.


Cullen, Dashiell, Gilroy and Burns highlight the Gators offensive unit, which ranks sixth-best in the nation and scores 15.00 points per game. Cullen currently leads the team in points (61) and is a three-time All-Region selection in her career. The senior attack has 43 goals and 18 assists this season along with 18 ground balls. 


Gilroy and Bruns are tied with the team-high in goals (46).  All four of the Gators have scored over 30 goals this season and Dashiell and Cullen have each chipped in 18 assists.  In addition, the Florida offense has compiled 399 points which ranks sixth in the nation and holds the second-best scoring margin in the nation with 8.42 goals per game.


Meagher and Farrell lead a Florida defense that ranks second in the nation, allowing just 6.58 goals per game. Farrell, the ALC Defensive Player of the Year, leads with 22 caused turnovers, 22 ground balls and 12 draw controls. 


The ALC Goalie of the Year, Meagher has 104 saves on the season with a .495 save percentage and 6.61 goals against average as both marks rank second in the nation. 


In all, 128 student-athletes were honored on All-Region teams and are now eligible for All-American honors which will be announced on May 17. To see other All-Region selections, please visit the IWLCA website.


No. 5 seed Florida (17-2) plays host to the first and second rounds this Friday and Sunday May 10 & 12.  UF earns the first round bye and will face the winner of Jacksonville and Denver on Sunday at 1 p.m. For more information about the Gainesville Regional, visit the tournament site on


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


IWLC All-South Region


First Team

Casey Ancarrrow, James Madison, Sr., A

Alex Aust, Maryland, Sr., A

Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina, Sr., M

Kitty Cullen, Florida, Sr., A

Taylor Cummings, Maryland, Fr., M

Brittany Dashiell, Florida, Sr., M

Jasmine DePompeo, Navy, Sr., A

Sam Farrell, Florida, Sr., D

Abbey Friend, North Carolina, Jr., A

Shannon Gilroy, Florida, So., A

Mikey Meagher, Florida, Sr., GK

Iliana Sanza, Maryland, Sr., D

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland, Sr., M

Sloan Serpe, North Carolina, Jr., D

Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown, So., A

Taylor Virden, Duke, Jr., D


Second Team

Casey Bocklet, Virginia, So., A

Ashley Bruns, Florida, Sr., A

Brittany Coppa, North Carolina, Jr., M

Megan Dunleavy, Virginia, Sr., D

Kelsey Duryea, Duke, Fr., GK

Kelyn Freedman, Georgetown, Jr., M

Loren Generi, Navy, So., A

Brooke Griffin, Maryland, So., A

Ashley Hunter, Georgetown, Sr., D

Kerrin Maurer, Duke, So., A

Alice Mercer, Maryland, Fr., D

Aly Messinger, North Carolina, Fr., A

Gabby Moise, Duke, So., D

Morgan Stephens, Virginia, So., M

Sophia Thomas, Georgetown, Sr., M

Taylor Trimble, Duke, So., M



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.