Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Former Gator Danny Wuerffel (right) will be inducted into the CFB Hall of Fame. (Photo from Gene Boyars)

Tuesday May 7, 2013Danny Wuerffel Named to 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Induction Class

New York, NY

Former Gator Danny Wuerffel (right) will be inducted into the CFB Hall of Fame. (Photo from Gene Boyars)

Chris Harry
By Chris Harry Senior Writer

Finally, Danny Wuerffel’s success, statistics, class and character -- oh, and all those championships -- have been deemed worthy of immortality. 


Wuerffel, the Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback whose run of titles and accolades rivals any player in history, was announced Tuesday morning as one of 14 inductees for the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013.


Joining Wuerffel, now 38, in this year’s class are N.C. State’s Ted Brown, Arizona’s Tedy Bruschi, Wisconsin’s Ron Dayne, Nebraska’s Tommie Frazier, Texas’ Jerry Gray, Kentucky’s Steve Meilinger, Ohio State’s Orlando Pace, Oklahoma’s Rod Shoate, Michigan State’s Percy Snow, Miami’s Vinny Testaverde and Baylor’s Don Trull. In addition, former coaches Wayne Hardin (Navy, 1959-64; Temple 1970-82) and Bill McCartney (Colorado 1982-94) will be inducted with the 2013 class.


Wuerffel and the other inductees will be honored at the National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner in New York City at the Waldorf Astoria on Tuesday, December 10th, 2013.


The résumé Wuerffel put before the voters was one of the most impressive ever compiled. 


If all it said was Wuerffel was the only player in college football history to start at quarterback for a conference champion four straight years -- in the Southeastern Conference, by the way -- plus win a national title and the 1996 Heisman -- that should have been enough. But it also said Wuerffel, a two-time first-team academic All-American, was awarded the Draddy Trophy (the so-called “academic Heisman”) presented annually by the College Football Hall of Fame, to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete. 


And then there were the numbers.


Wuerffel shared the starting quarterback spot for Coach Steve Spurrier along with Terry Dean during his first season and a half, before taking over the position permanently midway through the 1994 season. When he left UF after the 1996 season -- when he led the Gators to their first national championship and won the Heisman along the way -- Wuerffel had completed 60.5 percent of his passes for 10,875 yards, 114 touchdowns and 42 interceptions in starting 36 of his 46 games. At the time, those 114 TDs were second all-time only to BYU’s Ty Detmer.  


During Wuerffel’s four seasons, Florida won four-consecutive SEC title games, though he missed the ’93 game as a freshman after suffering a season-ending knee injury in the team’s regular-season finale.


As a senior, Wuerffel’s 3,625 yards passing yards were an SEC record. So were his 39 touchdowns, which led the nation. 


And he saved his absolute best for last. 


In his final two games in a UF uniform, Wuerffel threw for 401 yards and six touchdowns to beat Alabama (and its No. 1-ranked pass defense) for that fourth-straight league crown. He then exited his career by throwing for more than 300 yards and three touchdowns (also rushing for a score) in the Sugar Bowl national championship rematch over rival Florida State, a 52-20 wipeout win against the nation’s top-ranked defense. 


For Hall of Fame voters, this was an easy call.


Email Chris Harry   |   Follow on Twitter   |   Like on Facebook   |   Harry's Hangout

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.