Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline


Thursday May 2, 2013No. 2 Florida Lacrosse Set For ALC Tournament as Top Seed on Friday; Will Face Ohio State

Gainesville, Fla.

Live Video (Free) | Live Audio (Free) | Game Notes | ALC Tournament Central


No. 2 Florida lacrosse begins postseason action on Friday as the top seed in the American Lacrosse Conference tournament at Johns Hopkins University.  The Gators (16-1, 4-1 ALC) will take on No. 5 seed Ohio State, who defeated host No. 4 seed Johns Hopkins, at Friday at 4 p.m.


The Gators earned the overall No. 1 seed for the second-consecutive year after winning a portion of their third-straight ALC regular season title. UF broke the three-way first place tie with Northwestern and Penn State as they allowed the fewest goals in conference play (46) compared to the Wildcats (49) and Nittany Lions (62). 

2013 ALC Tournament Bracket


Quarterfinals • Thursday, May 2


#5 Ohio State 10, #4 Johns Hopkins 9


#3 Penn State 16, #6 Vanderbilt 14


Semifinals • Friday, May 3


#1 Florida vs. #5 Ohio State - 4 p.m.


#2 Northwestern vs. Penn State - 6:30 p.m.


Championship • Sunday, May 5


Semifinal winners - 12:00 p.m.


2013 ALC Postseason Awards (Florida Only)


Offensive Player of the Year

Kitty Cullen, Florida


Midfield Player of the Year

Brittany Dashiell, Florida


Defensive Player of the Year

Sam Farrell, Florida


Goalie of the Year

Mikey Meagher, Florida


Coach of the Year

Amanda O’Leary, Florida


ALC First Team

Kitty Cullen, Florida

Brittany Dashiell, Florida

Sam Farrell, Florida

Shannon Gilroy, Florida

Mikey Meagher, Florida


ALC Second Team

Ashley Bruns, Florida

Emily Dohony, Florida



Currently, Florida is second in scoring defense allowing just 6.71 goals per game and in scoring margin as it defeats its opponent by a margin of 8.88 goals.  It also ranks third in the nation in scoring offense with 15.59 goals scored per game and fourth in draws per game with 14.65.


Individually, UF is led by Cullen with 56 points (40 goals, 16 assists) followed closely by All-ALC selection sophomore midfielder Shannon Gilroy (Northport, N.Y.) who has 53 points (44 goals, nine assists) and a team-high 50 draws. Dashiell follows Gilroy with 48 draws and 46 points (28 goals, 18 assists) and senior attack Ashley Bruns (Ellicott City, Md.) completes the trio of Gators with 50 points or more with 51 points (40 goals, 11 assists). 


Meagher anchors the Gators’ defense, recording a .486 save percentage with 93 saves this season.  She is helped by Farrell who has team-highs with 20 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers.


No. 20 Johns Hopkins (10-6, 2-3 ALC) and Ohio State (7-9, 1-4 ALC) meet on Thursday at 4 p.m. with the winner advancing to play the Orange and Blue. The two teams met up in the final regular ALC game of the season on Sunday where the Bluejays held off the Buckeyes in the second half to emerge with an 11-10 victory.  Hopkins boasts the other individual ALC award winner in Rookie of the Year Dené DeMartino.


Florida defeated Hopkins and OSU this season, both wins at Donald R. Dizney Stadium helping complete a perfect 9-0 record at home and extending their home win streak to 18 games.  The Orange and Blue bested Ohio State, 13-7, on March 23 while hosting then-No. 17 Hopkins on April 6 in a 19-9 victory.


UF nearly swept all postseason ALC honors on Wednesday with the Gators taking five of the six individual awards, winning all position awards and coach of the year in the league this season.


Free live streaming is available through Hopkins All-Access with free audio available on with Cory Stephens and Kyle Benzion on the call.  Live stats will be available this evening after the end of the Hopkins/Ohio State game.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.