Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline

Friday April 26, 2013Four Gators Named Tewaaraton Award Nominees

Gainesville, Fla.

Four University of Florida lacrosse players – Seniors Kitty Cullen (Rockville, Md.), Brittany Dashiell (Bel Air, Md.) Mikey Meagher (Liverpool, N.Y.) and sophomore Shannon Gilroy (Northport, N.Y.) – have all been named Tewaaraton Award nominees, announced by the foundation this evening. The Tewaaraton Award honors the nation’s top male and female college lacrosse player.


Dashiell is one of four eligible finalists from last season to make an appearance on the award list.  Cullen earns her third-consecutive nominee honor while Meagher and Gilroy earn their first nods on the 25-player list.  Florida leads the group with four players while Maryland earned three spots. 


Gilroy, a three-time ALC Offensive Player of the Week, has led the Gators in goals (44) for the majority of the season while chipping in nine assists, 50 draw controls and 13 caused turnovers.  Cullen currently ranks first in points with 56 with 16 ground balls.  Dashiell has 28 goals with 18 assists and 48 draw controls while Meagher continues her solid performance in goal with 93 saves and .496 save percentage.


The women’s award nominees include players from 16 schools, including 2012 winner Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland) and representatives from 13 of the current Top 20 teams in the April 22 IWLCA Division I Poll. Florida (Kitty Cullen, 2012 finalist Brittany Dashiell, Shannon Gilroy, Mikey Meagher) and Maryland (Alex Aust, Iliana Sanza, Schwarzmann) and Syracuse (Becca Block, Alyssa Murray, 2012 finalist Michelle Tumolo) lead all schools with four, three and three nominees respectively.


Florida is currently 16-1 overall and 4-1 in the ALC and head to the league tournament next Friday where it earned the overall No.1 seed for the second-consecutive year. The Gators earned a portion of their third-straight league title with a 22-4 victory last Saturday over Northwestern.  UF will face the winner of the Johns Hopkins/Ohio State game on Friday, May 3 at 4 p.m. in the ALC semifinals in Baltimore, Md.


Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 9 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists were announced Feb. 22, with additions made March 14 and April 11, and were ultimately comprised of 97 men’s players and 62 women’s players.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


Tewaaraton Award Nominees


Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A

Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A

Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D

Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M

Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M

Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A

Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A

Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M

Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A

Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A

Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A

Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Soph., M

Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Soph., A

Maggie McCormick, Penn State - Soph., A

Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A

Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M

Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Soph., M

Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D

Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown - Soph., A

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A

Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.