Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Tennis Headline

Sunday April 14, 2013Women's Tennis is No. 3 Seed in SEC Tournament

Gainesville, Fla.

After a three-way tie for the Southeastern Conference regular-season championship, a draw by league officials determined Florida would be the No. 3 seed in the 14-team event that begins Wednesday in Starkville, Miss.

 

As one of the top four seed, the Gators (19-2, 12-1 SEC) earned a bye for the first two rounds and will play either sixth-seeded Vanderbilt, No. 11 seed Kentucky or No. 14 seed LSU on Friday, April 19 at 6 p.m. ET.

 

Georgia (19-2, 12-1 SEC) was drawn as the No. 1 seed, while Texas A&M (20-2, 12-1 SEC) was selected as the No. 2 seed. Alabama (18-4, 10-3 SEC) finished fourth to collect the final top seed.

 

During the regular season, Florida defeated Georgia, which defeated Texas A&M, which handed the Gators their only league setback.

 

Florida has won 18 of the 25 SEC Tournament titles contested, including each of the last three but played all as the No. 1 seed.

 

 

2013 SEC Tournament Schedule

A.J. Pitts Tennis Centre * Starkville, Miss.

 

Wednesday, April 17

Match 1: #12 Mississippi State vs. #13 Missouri – 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT)

Match 2: #11 Kentucky vs. #14 LSU – 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT)

 

Thursday, April 18

Match 3: #8 South Carolina vs. #9 Ole Miss – 9 a.m. ET (8 a.m. CT)

Match 4: #5 Tennessee vs. Match 1 winner – Noon ET (11 a.m. CT)

Match 5: #7 Auburn vs. #10 Arkansas – 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT)

Match 6: #6 Vanderbilt vs. Match 2 winner – 6 p.m. ET (5 p.m. CT)

 

Friday, April 19

Match 7: #1 Georgia vs. Match 3 winner – 9 a.m. ET (8 a.m. CT)

Match 8: #4 Alabama vs. Match 4 winner – Noon ET (11 a.m. CT)

Match 9: #2 Texas A&M vs. Match 5 winner – 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT)

Match 10: #3 FLORIDA vs. Match 6 winner – 6 p.m. ET (5 p.m. CT)

 

Saturday, April 20

Match 11: Winner of Matches 7, 8 – 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT)

Match 12: Winner of Matches 9, 10 – 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT)

 

Sunday, April 21

Match 13: Winner of Matches 11, 12 – 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT)

 

 

 

For all of the latest information on Florida women’s tennis:

Official Website: http://www.gatorzone.com/tennis/women/

Twitter: @GatorZoneTennis  and  @GatorZoneNews

 

-##-

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • Sun Sports / Fox Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2014 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., Sun Sports & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.