Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Track & Field Headline

Photo: Razorback Photos

Wednesday April 3, 2013Max Lang Honored as Nominee for SEC's H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award

Gainesville, Fla.

Photo: Razorback Photos

Florida track & field senior pole vaulter Max Lang (Tallahassee, Fla.) was among the distinguished group of Southeastern Conference student-athletes announced Wednesday as nominees for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award.


A total of 28 SEC student-athletes – one male and one female from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions – were nominated for the award. The recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award will be revealed on April 5. Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion sponsor, provides the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship.


“This is a great honor for Max to be nominated for this prestigious award,” Florida head coach Mike Holloway said. “It’s a testament to the hard work and dedication Max displays every day in the classroom and on the field. Max is a shining example of the term ‘student-athlete’.”


Lang is on track to graduate with a B.S. degree in statistics in May 2013. He was named to the President’s Honor Roll and met requirements to be designated as a member of the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team. In 2011, Lang received the Florida Letterman Award for the male scholar-athlete of the year, given to the athlete who maintains the highest GPA during the previous calendar year of study.


Lang, who currently holds a 3.94 GPA, was named an Anderson Scholar in 2010, given for maintaining a 4.0 grade point average through his initial four semesters of study. He is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and has earned letters in all four years of competition for the four-time NCAA Champion Florida track and field team. Lang walked on to the team in 2009 and has improved by leaps and bounds, competing in the NCAA East Preliminary Round in 2011, finishing just one spot shy of qualifying for the NCAA Championships.


Lang has spent over 215 hours of his Gator career as a part of Streetlight at Shands. Streetlight is a support program for adolescents and young adults living with cancer, cystic fibrosis, sickle cell disease and other chronic and life-threatening illnesses. Lang is one of 65 volunteers from the Gainesville community who makes room visits to patients providing companionship, discussion and support.


Streetlight is one of the first programs of its kind, beginning to meet and make relationships with patients to help preserve their non-medical identity. The senior from Tallahassee been a member of Streetlight at Shands since May of 2010.


The Southeastern Conference announced the 2013 nominees and recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Awards in advance of National Student-Athlete Day, which is scheduled for April 6.


The SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award was first presented in 1986.  The honor was renamed the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athletes of the Year in May 1990 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1972-86.


“The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award is the highest honor a student-athlete can receive in the Southeastern Conference,” SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said. “It highlights academic and athletic achievements at the highest level in the nation’s premier conference.”


National Student-Athlete Day, a program of the National Consortium of Academics and Sports, has been held each April 6 since 1987. It celebrates the outstanding achievements of high school and college student-athletes who have excelled in academics and athletics while having made significant contributions to their schools and communities.


The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla. on May 30.


Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were South Carolina baseball player Michael Roth and Georgia swimmer Wendy Trott.

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.