Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Track & Field Headline

Photos: Errol Anderson

Saturday March 30, 2013Gators Run World-Leading Times to Sweep 4x4 Relays in Austin

Austin, Texas

Photos: Errol Anderson

The Gator women’s and men’s 4x400-meter relays wrapped up Saturday in phenomenal fashion, as both relays sprinted out to world-leading times to close the 86th Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays, presented by State Farm.


“What a day at Texas,” Florida head coach Mike Holloway proclaimed. “I’m very proud of all the Gators. We were very competitive in both 4x1s and to close the meet winning both 4x4s was special. What we saw out there today is a testament to the hard work these young people are putting in at practice every day.”


The women’s 4x400-meter relay, with Robin Reynolds (Miami, Fla.), Lanie Whittaker (Miami, Fla.), Destinee Gause (Reynoldsburg, Ohio) and Ebony Eutsey (Miami, Fla.) in the lineup, ran the fastest time in the world this year with their winning time of 3:27.61. The Gators battled for the top spot with Texas but an impressive third leg by youngster Gause got the Gators out in front on the anchor leg. Eutsey held her position through the final 200 meters and just edged the Longhorns with her anchor leg time of 51.51.


The men’s 4x400-meter relay, competing in the Cleburne Price, Jr. Invitational relay, also finished first in a world-leading 3:02.65. The lineup featured two freshmen and two sophomores, with Najee Glass (Woodbridge, N.J.) leading things off for the Gators. Sophomore Hugh Graham, Jr. (Miami, Fla.), a member of the 2012 SEC and NCAA Champion 4x4, handled duties on the second leg while freshman Arman Hall (Pembroke Pines, Fla.) took over for the third leg. Sophomore Dedric Dukes (Miami, Fla.) fought off an outstanding anchor leg from Texas A&M to clinch the victory in the final race of the Texas Relays.


Florida’s men’s 4x100-meter relay, comprised of Eddie Lovett (West Palm Beach, Fla.), Graham, Jr., Leonardo Seymore (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.) and Dukes, turned in a season’s best 38.99 to finish as a runner-up and owns the second-best time in the NCAA this year.


The Gator women’s 4x100-meter relay finished fourth in Saturday’s finals with a time of 44.23, courtesy of Reynolds, Kyra Jefferson (Detroit, Mich.), Gause and Eutsey. 44.23 goes down as the seventh-fastest time in the NCAA this year.


“I want to give a shout out to our strength coach Matt DeLancey for the wonderful work he is doing with our athletes, and to trainer Andy Klock and his staff for their efforts in keeping everyone healthy,” Holloway noted. “I couldn’t be more appreciative to have such incredible support staff.”


“Now we have to get back to Gainesville and get refocused as we prepare to host the Pepsi Florida Relays next weekend. It’s great to be a Florida Gator,” Holloway finished.


Next up for the Gators is the 69th Annual Pepsi Florida Relays. Accepted entries are now available on GatorZone. For more information, including schedule, history and ticket information, go to the official Florida Relays homepage at


For all of the latest information on Florida track and field, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida track and field on Twitter at @GZTrackField or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.






Women’s High Jump

T7.          Taylor Burke, 1.75m/5-8.75




Men’s 100-Meter Hurdles

8.             Eddie Lovett, 13.84 (+2.6)


Women’s 4x100-Meter Relay

4.             Florida (Reynolds, Jefferson, Gause, Eutsey), 44.23 (SB)


Clyde Littlefield Men’s 4x100-Meter Relay

2.             Florida (Lovett, Graham, Jr., Seymore, Dukes), 38.99 (SB)


Women’s 4x400-Meter Relay

1.             Florida (Reynolds, Whittaker, Gause, Eutsey), 3:27.61 (WL)


Cleburne Price, Jr. Men’s 4x400-Meter Relay

1.             Florida (Glass, Graham, Jr., Hall, Dukes), 3:02.65 (WL)

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.