Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Basketball Headline


Tuesday March 12, 2013Donovan Named SEC Coach of the Year; Six Gators Claim SEC Honors

Gainesville, Fla.

Florida men’s basketball head coach Billy Donovan has been named the Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year as voted by the league’s coaches, the conference announced on Tuesday. In addition, junior center Patric Young (Jacksonville, Fla.) earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year recognition for the second straight season as six Gators received placement on conference teams.


Donovan led the Gators to a 24-6 regular-season record and the 2013 SEC Championship with a 14-4 conference mark to win the league with a two-game cushion. It marked the fifth SEC title under Donovan’s guidance and the third outright. Donovan has been recognized as the league’s top head coach two of the past three seasons, also earning the nod in 2011 when he helped UF to the SEC crown.


Young, who holds a 3.38 GPA in telecommunications, becomes the second player to repeat as winner of the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, joining Gator great Lee Humphrey, who won in 2006 and 2007. A Florida player has now won the award in five of the past eight seasons, and the Gators have claimed half of all Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors in the 10-year history of the award (Ray Shipman, 2010). Young excels both in the classroom and on the court, where he is averaging 10.5 points and 6.2 rebounds with six double-doubles this season.


Senior forward Erik Murphy (South Kingstown, R.I.) was named first-team All-SEC, while Young and senior guards Kenny Boynton (Pompano Beach, Fla.) and Mike Rosario (Jersey City, N.J.) all earned second-team honors. It marks the first time since 2007 that UF has had four players receive All-SEC honors. The Gators’ four All-SEC honorees is also twice as many as any other team in the conference.


It is the first All-SEC honor for Murphy, Rosario and Young and the third for Boynton, who was named to the coaches’ first team in 2012 and second team in 2011. Boynton (12.5), Murphy (12.4) and Rosario (12.3) have been the top scorers in the Gators’ balanced offensive attack this season. Murphy has shot an efficient .466 from 3-point range and is having his best season on the glass with 5.2 rebounds per game. Boynton has continued his ascent in the Florida scoring records and is poised to make a run at 2,000 career points during the postseason (currently at 1,964). Rosario has led the Gators in scoring a team-high 13 times this season and led the team in scoring during conference action with 12.8 points per game.


Junior guard Scottie Wilbekin (Gainesville, Fla.) and Young also received placement on the SEC’s All-Defensive team, the first Florida players to receive the honor in its limited history (1991-92; 2008-present). Wilbekin has routinely drawn opponents’ top perimeter player this season. In one memorable three-day span, Wilbekin limited Texas A&M’s Elston Turner to four points on Jan. 17 and pressured Missouri’s Phil Pressey into a two-point, 10-turnover performance on Jan. 19. Young has posted a career-high 52 blocks this season and is regarded as one of the most physical post defenders in the conference.


Rounding out the honors for Florida is freshman guard Michael Frazier II (Tampa, Fla.), who earned a spot on the SEC All-Freshman team. The sharp-shooting Frazier has averaged 6.0 points per game and shot an outstanding .484 from 3-point range, including .536 in SEC play. He won SEC Freshman of the Week twice this season, following a 17-point performance vs. Marquette and an 18-point scoring spree at Auburn in which he shot 6-for-7 from long distance. It marks the sixth straight season that Florida has had an All-Freshman honoree. The last time UF did not have an All-Freshman player was in 2007 when the veteran-laden Gators repeated as national champions.


The Gators return to action this Friday at 1 p.m. EDT at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn., for the quarterfinals of the SEC Tournament. Florida’s opponent in the nationally-televised (ESPNU) contest will be the winner of Thursday’s game between Georgia and LSU.


First Team All-SEC

Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Erik Murphy, Florida – F/C, 6-10, 238, Sr., South Kingstown, R.I.

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia – G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Johnny O’Bryant III, LSU – F, 6-9, 256, So., Cleveland, Miss.

Phil Pressey, Missouri – G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas

Jordan McRae, Tennessee – G, 6-5, 178, Jr., Midway, Ga.

Elston Turner, Texas A&M – G, 6-5, 209, Sr., Sacramento, Calif.


Second Team All-SEC

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas – F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.

BJ Young, Arkansas – G, 6-3, 180, So, St. Louis, Mo.

Kenny Boynton, Florida – G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.

^Mike Rosario, Florida – G, 6-3, 183, Sr., Jersey City, N.J.

^Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss – G, 6-2, 175, Jr., Hurst, Texas

Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss – F, 6-7, 240, Sr., Irmo, S.C.

Laurence Bowers, Missouri – F, 6-8, 227, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee – F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.


SEC All-Freshman Team

Michael Frazier II, Florida – G, 6-4, 200, Fr., Tampa, Fla.

Charles Mann, Georgia – G, 6-4, 205, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.

^Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky – F, 7-0, 244, Fr., Olathe, Kan.

Archie Goodwin, Kentucky – G, 6-4.5, 198, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

^Alex Poythress, Kentucky – F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.

Craig Sword, Mississippi State – G, 6-3, 189, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.

^Gavin Ware, Mississippi State – F, 6-9, 270, Fr., Starkville, Miss.

Michael Carrera, South Carolina – F, 6-5, 212, Fr., Anzoátegui, Venezuela


SEC All-Defensive Team

^Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 185, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida – G, 6-2, 176, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.

^Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Anthony Hickey, LSU – G, 5-11, 178, So., Hopkinsville, Ky.

Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss – F, 6-9, 235, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.


^-Ties are not broken


SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida

SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida

SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.