Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Swimming & Diving Headline


Friday February 22, 2013SEC Championships: Friday Prelim Results

Gainesville, Fla.

On the fourth day of competition at the 2013 SEC Championships, the University of Florida swimming and diving team advanced 16 to the finals tonight at the Student Rec Center Natatorium. The men had 10 qualify for the finals and seven of them will compete in the A-Final. On the women’s side, six advanced with two in the A-Finals. The men are currently the top ranked team with 748 points and the women are second with 676 points


In the men’s 200 fly the Gators dominated the prelims, taking the top four qualifying spots for tonight’s final. Redshirt junior Sebastien Rousseau (Cape Town, South Africa) put down the fastest time in prelims with a 1:43.20. Senior Cameron Martin (Clearwater, Fla.) set his season-best time of 1:43.64 to qualify second, sophomore Dan Wallace (North Berwick, Scotland) also swam a season-best as he was the third finisher in 1:44.30 and junior Marcin Cieslak (Warsaw, Poland) finished in 1:44.33 to round out the top four.


Just missing the A-Final were freshmen Luke Torres (Miami, Fla.) and Adam Bull (Dallas, Texas) who finished ninth and 10th with times of 1:46.41 and 1:46.69 respectively. Both set new personal-bests and were the top two qualifiers of the B-Final.


Senior Jamie Bohunicky (Gainesville, Fla.) secured a spot in the A-Final of the women’s 200 fly for the Gators. Bohunicky’s time season-best time of 1:57.73 qualified her eighth for tonight. Sophomores Rebecca Rainer (Richmond, Va.) and Molly Dubrasky (Estero, Fla.) finished 14th and 15th respectively to qualify for the B-Final. Rainer swam a time of 1:59.95 and Dubrasky was just behind her with a 1:59.96. Sophomore Lauren Neidigh (Orange Park, Fla.) finished 24th in a time of 2:02.38 and will compete in the C-Final.


Making his first A-Final as a Gator will be freshman Corey Main (Auckland, New Zealand) in the men’s 100 back. Main set a new career-best time of 47.03 to qualify fourth for tonight’s final. Sophomore Christian-Paul Homer (Trinidad and Tobago) moved on to the B-Final with his time of 48.36.


Another freshman made the A-Final, as Sinead Russell (Burlington, Ontario) swam a 51.95. That is the second-best time in UF history and a NCAA “A” qualifying time.


The Gators will have both men who entered in the A-Final for tonight’s 100 breast. Sophomore Matt Elliott (Peoria, Ill.) qualified second with new school record and personal-best time of 53.19. Also making it in was sophomore Ricky Munch (Clifton, Va.) who same a personal-best 53.57 to qualify seventh.


Junior Hilda Luthersdottir (Harfnarfjordur, Iceland) swam a season-best 1:00.33 in the prelims to advance to the B-Final as the ninth place qualifier in the women’s 100 breast. Senior Sarra Lajnef (Tunis, Tunisia) just missed qualifying for the finals as she finished 27th in a season-best 1:02.91.


Tonight’s finals will air live on beginning at 7 p.m. ET and the events will be the 200 fly, 100 back, 100 breast, women’s platform and 400 medley relay. Gator fans are encouraged to follow the swimming and diving program via Twitter or Facebook. A complete recap of each day’s events will be available on





Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.