Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline


Friday February 22, 2013Four Gators Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Gainesville, Fla.

Four University of Florida senior lacrosse players have been named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, announced by the organization on Friday.


Senior attack Kitty Cullen (Rockville, Md.), midfielder Brittany Dashiell (Bel Air, Md.), defender Sam Farrell (Millersville, Md.) and goalie Mikey Meagher (Liverpool, N.Y.) are four of the 50 players to make the watch list. Dashiell highlights the list as one of three finalists from last season to return on the list while Cullen was a top 25 finalist in 2012. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.  


Dashiell is the Orange and Blue’s current leading scorer with 12 points (eight goals, four assists) while Cullen has 10 points so far this season (eight goals, two assists).  Both hit milestones in their careers on Wednesday against No. 18/19 Stony Brook as Cullen notched her 200th career point while Dashiell picked up her 100th ground ball.  


Farrell recorded a career-high six draw controls against the Seawolves on Wednesday and has led a strong Florida defense who is holding opponents to just an average of 5.75 goals this season. She also has six ground balls and four caused turnovers this season.


Meagher has started every game in the net for the Gators, recording 19 saves for a .548 save percentage this season.  She has also picked up two ground balls while recording 212:77 minutes in the cage.


No. 3 Florida is one of two schools, along with Maryland, with four nominees on the initial watch list. The award watch list will be narrowed down to 25 in late April with five finalists announced in mid-May. The Gators have opened the season 4-0 and will look to continue that streak tonight as they host UC Davis at 6:30 p.m. at Dizney Stadium.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


2013 Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A

Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A

Courtney Bennett, Dartmouth - Sr., D

Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D

Katie Bollhorst, Salisbury - Sr., A

Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M

Tatum Coffey, Penn State - Soph., M

Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M

Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A

Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A

Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M

Alexa Demski, Towson - Sr., D

Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A

Maria Di Fato, Cortland - Sr., M

Tori Dugan, West Chester - Sr., A

Megan Dunleavy, Virginia - Sr., D

Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A

Sam Farrell, Florida - Sr., D

Katie Ferris, Massachusetts - Jr., A

Caitlin Fifield, Richmond - Sr., A

Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A

Emily Garrity, North Carolina - Sr., M

Kristin Giovanniello, Dartmouth - Jr., GK

Anna Kim, Stanford - Jr., M

Kim Kolarik, Virginia - Sr., GK

Tayler Kuzma, Ohio State - Jr., D

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Jr., M

Megan Leonhard, Trinity - Sr., M

Lauren Maksym, North Carolina - Sr., GK

Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Soph., M

Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK

Maddy Morrissey, Duke - Jr., M

Lyndsey Munoz, Stanford - Jr., GK

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A

Ariana Parker, Albany - Jr., M

Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M

Claire Petersen, Stony Brook - Sr., A

Maddie Poplawski, Penn - Sr., M

Caroline Salisbury, Cornell - Sr., A

Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M

Jaclyn Sileo, LIU-Post - Jr., A

Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Jr., M

Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Soph., A

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D

Megan Takacs, Cal - Sr., A

Sophia Thomas, Georgetown - Sr., M

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A

Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.