Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Swimming & Diving Headline


Thursday February 21, 2013SEC Championships: Thursday Prelim Results

Gainesville, Fla.

Florida swimming and diving lays down some of the nation’s top times in prelims to advance to tonight’s finals at 7 p.m. ET. The Gators had 15 men advance and 13 women, including nine and five in the A-Finals. The Gators secured top qualifying spots in two of the three events on both sides.


Florida started strong with the men’s 400 IM. Every Gator that swam advanced to tonight’s finals, including four in the A-Final. Junior Connor Signorin (East Windsor, N.J.) was the top advancer with his time of 3:42.64. It was the fourth fastest time in the country and a NCAA “A” qualifying time. Right behind him is sophomore Dan Wallace (North Berwick, Scotland) who advanced with yet another NCAA “A” time (3:42.96). Sophomore Matt Elliott qualified fifth with a personal-best time of 4:45.63 and sophomore Carlos Omana (Miami, Fla.) was eighth in 3:46.86.


Two Gators swam into the B-Final, sophomore Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez (Madrid, Spain) tied for 12th with his time of 3:48.99 and freshman Adam Bull (Dallas, Texas) clocked in at 3:50.31 for a new personal-best. Freshman Ryan Rosenbaum (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) will compete in the C-Final as he qualified 17th in a personal-best 3:50.68.


The women saw similar success, as junior Elizabeth Beisel (North Kingstown, R.I.) cruised to the top qualifying spot with her time of 4:04.78. Also swimming her way into the A-Final was freshman Ashlee Linn (Southfield, Mich.) who qualified fifth in a personal-best 4:10.56. The B-Final will feature three Gators, as freshman Jessica Thielmann (Newcastle, England) swam a 4:11.38, sophomore Rebecca Rainer (Richmond, Va.) clocked in at 4:12.79 and freshman Sierra Kuhn (Verona, Wis.) finished in 4:16.90.


Sophomore Lauren Neidigh (Orange Park, Fla.) and sophomore Jordan Smith (Longwood, Fla.) will compete in the C-Final as they finished in 4:18.44 and 4:19.78 respectively.


In the men’s 100 fly, junior Marcin Cieslak (Warsaw, Poland) swam a time of 46.44 to solidify the top qualifying spot. Senior Cameron Martin (Clearwater, Fla.) and junior Brad deBorde (Longwood, Fla.) join him the A-Final. Martin finished in a time of 46.81 and deBorde in 46.96.


Posting the top time in the country and her first NCAA”A” time, freshman Natalie Hinds (Midland, Texas) is the top qualifier in the women’s 100 fly after touching in 51.78. Junior Ellese Zalewski (Melbourne, Australia) also swam her way into the A-Final, qualifying sixth in a time of 52.49.


The 200 free saw another Gator grab the top qualifying spot, as freshman Pawel Werner (Wroclaw, Poland) finished with a career-best time of 1:34.23. Redshirt junior Sebastien Rousseau (Cape Town, South Africa) also made it into the A-Final with his time of 1:34.76, just under his previous season-best. Sophomore Matt Curby (Oviedo, Fla.) qualified for the B-Final with his time of 1:36.30, a personal-best and senior Jason Taylor (Plant City, Fla.) made the C-Final after also recording a personal-best in 1:37.29.


On the women’s side, freshman Sinead Russell (Burlington, Ontario) advanced to the A-Final of the 200 free with her time of 1:45.05. Senior Jamie Bohunicky (Gainesville, Fla.) will race in the B-Final after clocking a 1:46.15 in the prelims and sophomore Natasha Fung (Edmonton, Canada) will also appear after her time of 1:46.89.


Tonight’s finals will begin at 7 p.m. ET with the 400 IM, 100 fly, Men’s 1-meter diving and the 200 free. Gator fans are encouraged to follow the swimming and diving program via Twitter or Facebook. A complete recap of each day’s events will be available on





Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.