Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Golf Headline

Friday February 8, 2013Gators Open Spring Season with SunTrust Gator Invitational

Gainesville, Fla.

The fourth-ranked University of Florida men’s golf team will begin its spring season with its home tournament, the 2013 SunTrust Gator Invitational. The tournament will begin on Saturday, February 9 at the Mark Bostick Golf Course on the campus of the University of Florida.


“We only play one home tournament event,” head coach Buddy Alexander said. “Any time you can play at home it is nice. It is nice to start at home because you feel like you do have some advantages and you feel like you are going to have a good event.”


The two-day event will feature 54 holes of stroke play at the par 70, 6,701 yard course. 36 holes will be played on Saturday, February 9 and the final 18 holes will be played on Sunday, February 10. Play will begin at 8 a.m. on both days. Live scoring will be available on


Florida will send out a lineup of seniors T.J. Vogel (Cooper City, Fla.) and Tyler McCumber (Ponte Vedra, Fla.), sophomore J.D. Tomlinson (Gainesville, Fla.), junior Bill Anderson (DeLand, Fla.), and Santiago Gavino (San Luis Potosi, Mexico). Sophomore Eric Banks (Truro, Canda), senior Tommy Mou (Bradenton, Fla.), and sophomore Thomas Stewart (Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.) will be competing as individuals, as well.


This will be the final time McCumber, Mou, and Vogel will compete on their home course in their collegiate careers. On the other hand, this will mark the first time Anderson, Gavino, and Tomlinson will participate in an event at the Mark Bostick Golf Course. This also will be Anderson’s first tournament of his collegiate career.


Since 1978, the University of Florida has invited some of the country’s finest collegiate golf teams to Gainesville to compete in the Gator Invitational.


Some of the best in golf have captured Gator Invitational medalist honors including current PGA TOUR professionals Jonas Blixt (2005), Chris Couch (1994 & 1995), Chris DiMarco (1990), Billy Horschel (2009), Jeff Klauk (1998), Graeme McDowell (2002), Alex Rocha (2000), and David Toms (1989).


Over the tournament’s 35-year history, the Gators have dominated the event, capturing 23 team titles and 10 medalist honors.


Tournament Field (Golf World/Nike Golf Coaches’ Poll Rankings in Parentheses)
Arkansas (12)

Florida (4)

Florida State (23)

Georgia Southern (RV)


Kennesaw State


Liberty (21)


Mississippi State

North Florida

South Alabama




For complete coverage of the Gators’ men’s golf program visit, follow @GatorZoneGolf on Twitter and ‘like’ the University of Florida Men’s Golf page on Facebook.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.