Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Friday January 18, 2013Three Gators to Play in Senior All-Star Games on Saturday

Gainesville, Fla.

University of Florida seniors Josh Evans (Irvington, N.J.), Omar Hunter (Buford, Ga.), and Caleb Sturgis (St. Augustine, Fla.) will all participate in senior all-star games on Saturday, January 19. Evans and Sturgis will take part in the East-West Shrine Game at Tropicana Field, while Hunter will play in the inaugural Raycom College Football All-Star Classic in Montgomery, Ala.


Evans started all 13 games at safety in his final year on campus. He led the team with 79 tackles on the season, including 2.5 sacks and 4.5 TFL. In addition, he tallied five or more tackles in 12 of 13 games and led the Gators in tackles four times (Texas A&M, South Carolina, Missouri, and Louisiana). Evans closed his collegiate career with four tackles and an interception in the Sugar Bowl against Louisville.


Hunter started every game at nose tackle for UF in his final season. He had his best season in Gainesville, tallying a career-high 40 tackles, 4.0 TFL and four pass breakups and was the second-leading tackler among defensive linemen. Against Kentucky, he recorded a career-high eight tackles to earn SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week.


A two-time finalist for the Lou Groza Award and 2012 Second-Team All-American, Sturgis leaves the University of Florida as one of the greatest kickers in school history. This season, he set UF records for career field goals made (68) and fields goals made in a single season (24). Sturgis finished the year with an 85.7 field goals made percentage by placing 24-of-28 field goals through the uprights, including going a perfect 3-for-3 on kicks 50 yards or longer.


The East-West Shrine Game will be on the NFL Network starting at 4 p.m., while CBS Sports Network will televise the Raycom College Football All-Star Classic at 3:00 p.m.

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.