Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Former Gator Kevin Carter was the guest speaker at the banquet.

Saturday December 8, 2012Gators Celebrate 2012 Season at Annual Banquet

Gainesville, Fla.

Former Gator Kevin Carter was the guest speaker at the banquet.

The University of Florida football team gathered this evening at the Grand Ballroom in the Reitz Union to celebrate the 2012 season with its annual awards banquet.


At the banquet, the Gators looked back on the 2012 season and gave out several awards as voted on by the coaching staff and student-athletes, including the Fergie Ferguson Award, the James W. Kynes Award and the Ray Graves Award.


The Fergie Ferguson Award, which has been given annually since 1954 to the player who displays outstanding leadership, character and courage, was shared between junior defensive lineman Sharrif Floyd (Philadelphia, Penn), senior linebacker Jon Bostic (Wellington, Fla.), senior wide receiver Frankie Hammond Jr. (Hollywood, Fla.) and senior defensive back Josh Evans (Irvington, N.J.).


Bostic also took home the James W. Kynes Award along with junior defensive back Matt Elam (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.). The Kynes Award is presented annually to the Gator who best exemplified the mental and physical toughness and “iron-man” determination that Kynes exhibited as a Gator athlete. The award has been handed out since 1986.


The Ray Graves award, given since 1990 to the team’s Most Valuable Player as selected by a vote of the entire squad, went to senior running back Mike Gillislee (DeLand, Fla.). Gillislee had a senior year to remember for the Orange and Blue, becoming the first Gator to rush for 1,000 yards in a season since Ciatrick Fason in 2004. Gillislee is just the eighth Gator all-time to reach the 1,000-yard plateau. The senior currently has 1,104 yards rushing for the year heading into the Sugar Bowl to go with 10 touchdowns.


A complete list of all the award winners can be found below.


2012 Banquet Award Winners

Coaches’ Choice Awards

President’s Academic Award: Caleb Sturgis, Jeff Driskel, Michael McNeeley

Gene Elleson Community Service Award: Jon Bostic, Jeremy Brown, Caleb Sturgis

Iron Gator Strength and Conditioning Award: Jon Harrison, Jon Halapio, Omarius Hines, Sam Robey, Lerentee McCray

Chris Patrick Courage Award: Dominique Easley, Chaz Green, Jon Halapio, Ronald Powell, James Wilson

Most Valuable Offensive Scout Team Award: Max Garcia, Mark Herndon

Most Valuable Defensive Scout Team Award: Alex McAlister, Jeremi Powell

Most Valuable Special Teams Scout Team Award: David Campbell, Rhaheim Ledbetter


Players’ Choice Awards

Rex Farrior Most Team Spirited Offense: Xavier Nixon

Rex Farrior Most Team Spirited Defense: Matt Elam, Dominique Easley

Greg See Tenacity Award Offense: Jon Harrison, Jon Halapio

Greg See Tenacity Award Defense: Matt Elam, Sharrif Floyd

Most Valuable Special Teams Player: Caleb Sturgis, Loucheiz Purifoy

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Mike Gillislee

Most Valuable Defensive Player: Matt Elam

James W. Kynes Award (Best Mental/Physical Toughness): Matt Elam, Jon Bostic

Ray Graves Award (Team MVP): Mike Gillislee

Fergie Ferguson Leadership Award: Sharrif Floyd, Jon Bostic, Frankie Hammond, Josh Evans

Team Captain (5): Jon Bostic, Mike Gillislee, Matt Elam, Jon Halapio, Omar Hunter

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.